Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Equipment Discussions

Best Progressive Reloader

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-11-2009, 09:09 AM
Gold Member

Re: Best Progressive Reloader

I have a Dillion 550 as does my brother. Were I doing it over again, I'd consider the 650 to get the auto indexing, but feel no need to step up in price to anything above that. I load between 200-300 rounds of .45acp an hour with what I have and don't shoot much more then that in a month. My brother also uses his for reloading his F-Class .284 ammo, so I konw its capable of mking accurate ammo.

JeffVN
Old 03-17-2009, 08:18 PM
Silver Member

I've been loading with a Dillon 550 for about 15 years. Works great, and fast on changing calibers.
Old 03-18-2009, 06:30 AM
Silver Member

Hi Mortgage man,

I've just updated to the Hornady Lock-N-Load Automatic Press and I LOVE it!

My previous one was the Hornady Progressive (I used it for some 16 years) - had some issues with the primer feed on it at times so that was annoying. Upgraded the powder throw system to a 'case activated' version and that saved a lot of spilt powder. The only thing to break on it was a small roll pin that holds the rotating rod on the shell holder, pretty minor for all of those years I think.

So, the new version L-N-L A.P. is great - Hornady have addressed all the so called 'issues' I used to experience on the older version and changed/updated the design somewhat - so that is good. I load 357SIG, .308Win and 44Mag on it - just great. I have found I can actually load quite a bit faster with the new press than the old version and the process is very smooth.

Cannot comment on the Dillan though.

Cheers.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mortgage Man View Post