Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Equipment Discussions


Reply

Is 30 MOA to much for this setup?

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #8  
Old 07-18-2013, 03:38 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 200
Re: Is 30 MOA to much for this setup?

Understand. But I when I shoot at 200 yards with that 308 I'll put a 2" sticker bullseye at 11" above my point of aim. My group is right there. I went with a 40 MOA base because I had 35 MOA of wasted scope elevation on the prior 0 MOA base on that rifle.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-18-2013, 04:31 PM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 75
Re: Is 30 MOA to much for this setup?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Broz View Post
Well, you will be running very close. But like I said, in a perfect world it will work. If the top of the action is not to spec, and they do vary, it could toss you off a little. Or if the scope only has 62 moa and was advertised at 65. Or if you use an EGW base and it is off and really a 35 or 40 moa instead of 30. This I have seen a lot. If you want security buy a Nightforce rail, but I am not sure they come in 30's. But Near Mfg. makes one and it will be spot on, but cost is $175

Jeff
Fingers crossed then. I placed the order with Seekins. I will let you know how it turns out.

Thank you so much for your input.

Speedy.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-18-2013, 06:17 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Townsend, Montana.
Posts: 7,935
Re: Is 30 MOA to much for this setup?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedygoss View Post
Fingers crossed then. I placed the order with Seekins. I will let you know how it turns out.

Thank you so much for your input.

Speedy.
Your welcome. Seekins makes good stuff too.

Jeff
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-18-2013, 06:21 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Townsend, Montana.
Posts: 7,935
Re: Is 30 MOA to much for this setup?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ludicrous View Post
But I when I shoot at 200 yards with that 308 I'll put a 2" sticker bullseye at 11" above my point of aim. My group is right there.
Well that could be the 1 moa I was referring to.

Some people would shoot over a lot of game in the heat of the moment with a rifle that shoots 11" high. But if it works for you that's fine. Just would not be my choice.

Jeff
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-28-2013, 10:19 AM
Official LRH Sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Ventura CA
Posts: 876
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedygoss View Post
Thanks Jeff.

I just wanted to be 100% sure I would be ok with the 30 MOA base. Id hate to get it on and find out I couldn't zero @ 200 because it was pitched to much.

Speedy.
Your plan leaves very little tolerance for error. In addition to the variables Jeff mentioned, there is bore alignment to the receiver and barrel vibration, both of which can move the point of impact several MOA. If the boresight error is to the left or right, dialing windage to correct it may cause you to loose vertical adjustment range. I like to allow +/-5 MOA for boresight errors, whatever the source.

Zeroing at 200 yds gives you only about 4.3 MOA of grace. If that is not enough to compensate for boresight errors, you may have to hold-off on your reticle to either zero or aim at very long distance, as Jeff suggested. Neither one is a deal breaker, in my opinion.

Other alternatives are to change to a different base (20 or 40 MOA) or shim the base you have and re-bed it (I'm assuming you bed it the first time).

I recommend that you mechanically zero the scope reticle before you zero to determine if there is a large boresight error. That will help you to understand any problems you find later. If there is no boresight error, you will only have to dial 4.3 MOA bullet up to zero.

Good luck.
__________________

www.HighPowerOptics.com
Sports Optics
Rifle Scope Installation Tool Kits for Rent
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-07-2014, 02:05 PM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 75
Re: Is 30 MOA to much for this setup?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedygoss View Post
Fingers crossed then. I placed the order with Seekins. I will let you know how it turns out.

Thank you so much for your input.

Speedy.

Quick update.

The 30 MOA rail zeroed at 200 yds leaving 13 MOA left untill bottomed out. It has 56 MOA up travel. this particular scope has a total of 69 actual MOA travel VS the advertised 65 and killed its first Coues deer in Dec. @ a dialed 450 yds. one shot drop.

Thank you for all your help.
Speedy.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC