Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Equipment Discussions

1 gun for all???

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-23-2011, 02:49 PM

1 gun for all???

I will start this thread by pointing out that I am a newbie to this forum, I have made an introduction post in the new members section. But to help with any answares that I can get from you fine people i will try to explain my circumstances.

I do not own any rifles at this time, My father is a gunsmith and has several custom built rifles that I have always been able to use. Well I think it is past time for me to obtain my own rifle. He has built rifles for all of my brothers, I just have not been able to come up with 1 that I really wanted. He is not getting any younger and I fear that If I dont get off the "pot" I will be left in the cold of having a trully memorable rifle built by him.

There rifles are all built from 98 Mauser actions, but that is the only thing in common they have, I personally am trying to think off the wall. So I havent decided what to do for an action yet. (defintly open to suggestions).

What I would like to be able to acheive is 1 rifle, that will work for Hunting Whitetails in the midwest, aswell as Elk out west. Of course I would also like it to be accurate at long ranges (1k). Although I do understand that I am NOT ready for taking those long yardage shots I want the capabilities. I also understand that it will take alot of trigger time to acheive the ability to do so.

The midwest hunting I do, has realistic shots from 50-500 yards in the hills, and as far as 1800 yards in the Missouri river bottoms. Now will I ever be able to make those shots?? If I work hard at it maybe 1 day I can. Never the less I do NOT consider it a waste of time or money to try and fail, after all I will still have a Rifle built for me from my father that can and will be cherrished for my lifetime.