Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Chatting and General Stuff > General Discussion

General Discussion Must wear red or OD green socks to participate. I can't see your socks, please be honest.

Pretty new to LR need some advice.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-13-2008, 02:26 PM
Platinum Member

Pretty new to LR need some advice.

OK, I have limited experience with shooting past 500 yards. But I have been doing it since spring with a custom barreled 30-378 and the new 338 Lapua Joe built me. Both have 1/4 moa turrets the Lapua has an NXS. and I have the NF program in a pda. I bought a Kestrel, and a Swaro rangefinder. So enugh about the equipment. I think I have what it takes.

I have been practising at least once a week and I am very comfortable on making a one shot kill out to 1000 or maybe a bit more under conditions I am use to, (light wind)

Here is where I am concerned. My NF cosine indicator will be here this week. I live where up and down hill shots are not common and I probably will not be able to practise that much. What is your opinion on just entering the cosine in the NF program and taking a shot out to 1000 on game? Can I trust it? Should I try to varify it first? I will take the time to confirm POI at the new hunting altitude but not sure I will be able to check extreme up and down angles.

I am 49 and been hunting all my life. I like to think I do it right and pride myself in clean kills.

You guys that shoot extreme angles alot, give me your thoughts.

Thanks! Jeff
Old 09-13-2008, 03:23 PM
Platinum Member

Re: Pretty new to LR need some advice.

If you are confident in the range and the wind read, I'd just put the angle info into the PDA and trust it. The mathematics of angle's is not as prone to errors and subjective assessment like Wind and Range can be especially when you are using an ACI.

AJ