Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Chatting and General Stuff > General Discussion

General Discussion Must wear red or OD green socks to participate. I can't see your socks, please be honest.

Opinions please

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-05-2013, 07:40 PM
Silver Member

Re: Opinions please

You have to realize that this is long range shooting. Most shooters won't shoot off the shelf ammo. To get the most of the rifle's potential, you almost have to develop a load of your own.

Kids are great, beer is good, and people are stupid.
Old 01-05-2013, 08:08 PM
Bronze Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffP40 View Post
You have to realize that this is long range shooting. Most shooters won't shoot off the shelf ammo. To get the most of the rifle's potential, you almost have to develop a load of your own.
Reloading is not an issue, I have been doing for 25 years, I have two press, and a room full of powder and dies. I have been loading for most of the Weatherby mags,257STW etc..... I am looking a buying a custom gun and before I spent 4-8k on one I wanted some opinions. I appreciate what you guys are posting.

My original thought was the 6.5x 284 because it doesn't take a pound of powder per load. and it has light recoil with out a brake. It also appears they will kill most anything in North America at long ranges based on some of the long range shows! I am fond of the 30cals but was thinking something smaller that would still do the job.

Thanks
Tom
Old 01-06-2013, 06:54 AM
Silver Member

Tom, I don't want you to misunderstand my post. It was a smarmy reply to swift and his post. You are set up to do what is necessary with a good rig. I am trying to understand why he would make such a comment.