Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Chatting and General Stuff > General Discussion

General Discussion Must wear red or OD green socks to participate. I can't see your socks, please be honest.

Kids Shooting Course Advice

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-13-2011, 05:09 PM
Bronze Member

Re: Kids Shooting Course Advice

Quote:
Originally Posted by SBruce View Post
I used to be a junior firearms instructor in the 4-H program. I was about 15 myself at the time and was teaching younger kids <12 to shoot 22 rimfire at 50 to 100 yds. They seemed to relate better to another "kid" then they did adults, which was part of the reason I got picked. I had been shooting for about 9 years and loading my own centerfire rifle ammo for about 3 years, guess I had more experience then some of the adults did, which is the other reason they picked me.

Long story short, I now have my own grandkids and still shoot every chance I get. I've competed in alot of different shooting sports over the years, from archery to 300 yd benchrest, coyote hunting competions to cowboy mounted shooting. I've also been a hunting guide for Wyoming deer and antelope for about 30 yrs off and on (yes, I know it says 18 in my introduction to this site, typo....was supposed to say 28 but I can no longer go back and edit it...sorry)

I would take a look at your program if you'd like.

Kids and women are the ones we really need interested in our sport. I'd be glad to help.

Thanks for all your help and comments Shane! Certaainlly help me see I am am on the right track and provided some new/fresh ideas.

Thanks!
Pete
Psalms 55:22 "Cast thy burden upon the Lord, and He shall sustain thee. He shall never suffer the righteous to be moved."
Old 03-17-2011, 01:13 AM
Bronze Member