Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Chatting and General Stuff > General Discussion

General Discussion Must wear red or OD green socks to participate. I can't see your socks, please be honest.

How young are you guys?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-10-2004, 10:50 PM
Bronze Member

How young are you guys?

Im only new to this sport, and only reasonably young (18), and was just wondering how young you all are and when you started shooting?.
Old 07-11-2004, 10:03 AM
Bronze Member

Re: How young are you guys?

38. Started shooting with Dad when I was 4. Owned my first rifle at 10. I thought everybody shot until I left for college and found out that most city folk haven't even touched a firearm.
Old 07-11-2004, 10:42 AM
Silver Member

I am 27. Started hunting with my Dad when I was 5 and by myself in the stand at 12. Got my first deer rifle and handgun at 12. Started reloading at 20.
Old 07-11-2004, 12:18 PM
Silver Member

I'm 24, started hunting when I was a toddler with home made bows n slingshots.

Shot my first pig when I was 11, fired my first centrefire at the same age(.300win mag in a BAR).

Age 12; my school had an indoor target shooting team and an outdoor clays team.
I participated in both and the interschool comps.

Hunted in Africa for the first time at 13, then over the following 4 years on and off with my dad.

Till three years ago, I was very much happy to shoot factory ammo, and would have considered putting a few shots near the bull a good result before heading off hunting.

Then I started reloading maniacally and doing some local informal competition shooting and long range shooting at the same time,

At the moment I am working toward getting a handle on the .308win out to 600m, then I want to consider getting an .338lapua.

I am also getting into blackpwder cartridge shooting, I'll be picking up a .45-120 on thrusday, and later possibly a .38-55 or .38-40 which will be a whole new challenge.