Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Chatting and General Stuff > General Discussion

General Discussion Must wear red or OD green socks to participate. I can't see your socks, please be honest.

Extreme Long Range Hunting

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-20-2004, 03:47 PM
Silver Member

Extreme Long Range Hunting

Hello, everyone I'm new to the LRH forum but not to hunting. I was recently introduced to extreme long range shooting, as I like to call it.

I've dispatched hundreds maybe even over a thousand of groundhogs as we call them here in WV using a .222 a 22-250 a bunch of 243's and my pet .270! In the past most of my hogs were taken anywhere from 200 to 450 with an occasional 500 yard shot.

After 25 to 30 years of it, I got bored with how easy it had gotten. As luck would have it, my new neighbor Rick Turner turned out to be an extreme long-range varmint hunter. When he first moved in he told me of his new gun he was having built a .338 Lapua Magnum. He named her "The Equalizer" the gun is made to be shot from a bench it weighs 38 pounds has a Nite Force scope 15 to 42 I think.

On Dec. 26th 2003, Rick invited a friend and me to go deer hunting. He had permission where we might get up to a 900-yard shot. We got to the farm about 1:00 in the afternoon. We set up his bench, spotting scopes, and range finder. Rick jumped on his 4 wheeler and ran some milk jugs and bowling pins out to dial in the scope plus for us to plink a little.
As soon as he got back Rick said I'm going to try a pin at 750 yards (he has a Wild range finder as well as a laser range finder. We weren't expecting deer till later that evening. Shows how unpredictable deer are. He adjusted his scope both windage and elevation.
Boom first shot he smacked down the bowling pin he'd called. Steve my other buddy and I just stared at each other with slacked jaw.