Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Chatting and General Stuff > General Discussion

General Discussion Must wear red or OD green socks to participate. I can't see your socks, please be honest.

After the animal is down

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-15-2003, 08:46 AM
Bronze Member

After the animal is down

Well since I wore my red socks today…

Since I am new to this long range hunting stuff I was wondering how you guys go about getting an animal after it is down? Since most of my shooting has been at short ranges in dense cover we (my father, hunting partners and myself) usually rely on 4-wheelers or 6-wheelers to haul/drag the animal back to the pickup. When you get an animal at longer ranges how do you find the animal after shooting it, i.e. does someone stay and keep an eye on it while others walk over to it? And after it is all said and done do you pack the thing out, or do you rely on mechanical or animal transportation?
Old 09-15-2003, 09:54 AM
Platinum Member

Re: After the animal is down

The way we do it....After the animal is down.We keep at least one set of big eyes on it.We then send a few of the younger guys [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img] over to where it is...We talk them in with talkabout radios...And we do things the old fashion way....We just drag them out.. [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]

[ 09-15-2003: Message edited by: Boyd Heaton ]
Old 09-15-2003, 10:02 AM
*WyoWhisper*

We usually just follow the Grizzly Bear.... [img]images/icons/shocked.gif[/img]
Old 09-15-2003, 12:53 PM
PUBLISHER

WW

I like that idea! [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]

Long Range Rifles, LLC - Ready To Ship

Components and assembly by LRH Sponsors
Old 09-15-2003, 03:12 PM
Platinum Member

I prefer to radio in a 206 and long-line the sucker over to the truck [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img] Those were the days.
Old 09-15-2003, 05:24 PM
Platinum Member