Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Chatting and General Stuff > General Discussion

General Discussion Must wear red or OD green socks to participate. I can't see your socks, please be honest.

The thread is closed

300 Varminter Update

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 04-20-2008, 04:37 PM
Platinum Member
75 grains gets you this.

It takes 79 grains to show 4000+

Unread 04-20-2008, 06:15 PM
Platinum Member
No worries. As of today, it's reported that there's 30 guys shooting their 300 WSMs at 4000 fps with 125 Nosler BTs. And none of them have reported any injuries to themselves or damage to their weapons... so far...:eek:
Unread 04-20-2008, 07:14 PM
Platinum Member
Let me get one thing straight. I know about safety, I am not going to get this rifle and shoot it with the hottest load. I am going to start out low and work up. I know what I am doing, and I am not stupid. I have been shooting for 30 years. I am not a gunsmith or a ballistics expert, so I am not the best at trying to prove a point or arguing with guys like Kirby, Goodgrouper, ect. I will be the first to admit that. However, I am not going to set back and let anyone of them get away with trying to put down or say Richard is promoting an-unsafe concept.

If a gunsmith as well known and respected as Richard tells me his 300 Varminter will push the 110grn V-Max and 125grn BT at 4000+fps, do it accurately and safely, I am going to trust, listen and believe him. There are many other 300 Varminters that are reporting the success of this rifle. BountyHunter made an awesome point, there are more than 30 owners of the 300 Varminter, and they have all reported excellent results. I have gotten a ton of my information from most of them. True, I don't have my rifle yet, however, I wanted to report the results that I heard from the other owners to prove the ney sayers wrong.