Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics


Reply

Using magnum primers instead of large rifle?

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-25-2004, 04:42 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Nevada
Posts: 594
Using magnum primers instead of large rifle?

I sighted my new 4X12 56 mm scope today and I wanted to go varminting. I was low on 100 grain bullets for my standard .270 winchester. So i just grabbed a bag of my previously resized/cleaned/primed brass.

I loaded up about 100 rounds of 100 grain with IMR 4320 52 grains. Without thinking [img]images/icons/shocked.gif[/img] I realized that they were all CCI 250 mag primers. The load is under max with large rifle primers that i tested before by @3 grains.

I've heard that mag primers is like adding a couple of grains of powder. What's your opinion before I shoot one?
__________________
.270 Ackley improved 29 inch 1.250 dia. target barrel 7mm STW 28 inch 1.250 target barrel. I also love my .458 mag for varmints and the biggest game in the world.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-25-2004, 09:57 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,856
Re: Using magnum primers instead of large rifle?

I once used some mag primers instead of larger rifle because just wanted to see what would happen , only thing I saw was inconsistant accuracy. I was told that the primer going off might be moving the bullet out of the case a bit before the powder goes off
__________________
Si Vis Pacem Parabellum
Molon Labe
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-26-2004, 12:27 AM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 521
Re: Using magnum primers instead of large rifle?

Primers are a very critical facctor in your accuracy formula, especially if you are pushing the envelope. Using a fat type case, such as the 300 WSM, 284, etc., I have been doing a primer experiment for my own knowledge based on some recommendations from Ram Shot & CCI. In several instances, just a change of primer has really had some eye opening effects. For instance, using both H414 & Ram Shot Hunter in max loads with a 284, velocity,standard deviation, and pressure have been changed to a verifyable basis. Some primers are hotter than others, not just magnum vs standard primers. For example, using a max load of H414 with a WLR primer as the starting point, everything was left the same with only a change of primer. Going to a Fed 210M, velocity increased 70 fps with a drop in pressure, and much better Sd. This was verified with several additional loads run over my Oehler chrono. In another instance, Ram Shot suggests using a standard primer in most loads under a 60 grain or so load. Approaching larger loads, experimentation is suggested. Their powders are designed to burn slower for consistency. Using too hot a primer can cause the powder to light off too fast and not do its best. Using Hunter powder in a max load in the same rifle with a different bullet, after max pressure was reached and then backed off 1 grain using a CCI magnum primer. A WLR primer,Fed 210, Fed 210M, & Fed 215 were changed with everything remaining the same. Again, pressure sign changed, velocities changed, and Sd changed. In fact, as suggested by Ram Shot, velocities were much higher (over 100 fps)by using std primers vs magnum primers. Same has held true with H4350 and several other powders in similar burning rates. Just a reference for your future load developments. Good luck. [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-26-2004, 01:01 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Palmer, Alaska
Posts: 2,539
Re: Using magnum primers instead of large rifle?

Get some more brass and work up the load, or break a few down and reload them progressively lighter. Check for excessive pressure signs as you work up to the ones you have all loaded up at 100 grains. That is probably the most sane suggestion. The second most sane suggestion, okay, maybe the third or fourth, but clean your barrel well so pressure starts a little lower at first, then fire a few over a good reliable chronograph and compare MV and pressure signs to the load with a standard 200 primer.

I would guess that you'll be fine, but if you notice excessive pressure signs early on... well, stop.

I've seen pressure go higher using mag primers, but I've seen it lower just as many times too, and very often I've seen it simply remain the same... this while testing with the Oehler M43 and PressureTrace.

Anytime one changes components he should start low and work up. I know, probably just preachin to the quire...

I force myself to check, double check, then triple check components etc, and only one can of powder, primer and bullet is ever down on my bench at a time.

Here's hopin you don't have to pull bullets. Then, will that load even shoot with the primer change?
__________________
Brent Moffitt
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-26-2004, 07:25 AM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Nevada
Posts: 594
Re: Using magnum primers instead of large rifle?

If it's not raining today I'm going out testing. I've pulled bullets before and have one of the nice knockers that makes it easy.

As I stated above I've shot as high as 55 grains of 4320 in that gun with 100 grain moly coated bullets. Which these are using CCi #200 large rifle primer. That is the upper limit with very flat primers and short case life.

This is 52 grains of 4320 and CCI 250 primers
__________________
.270 Ackley improved 29 inch 1.250 dia. target barrel 7mm STW 28 inch 1.250 target barrel. I also love my .458 mag for varmints and the biggest game in the world.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-27-2004, 03:57 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Palmer, Alaska
Posts: 2,539
Re: Using magnum primers instead of large rifle?

Oooops! Had 300 Ultra capacity on the brain when I typed 100 grains!

I would expect you will still fall short of the 55gr loads performance with the 200's, assuming throat and bore condition, OAL, neck tension, brass lot #, powder lot #, barrel and ammo temperature are consistant... just my best guess though.

[ 11-27-2004: Message edited by: Brent Moffitt ]
__________________
Brent Moffitt
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-04-2009, 08:15 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 7
Re: Using magnum primers instead of large rifle?

You'll be fine! Did the same thing when I ran out of regular large rifle primers......
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: Using magnum primers instead of large rifle?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Large Rifle/ LG Magnum Primers? ovastafford Reloading 16 12-20-2009 03:35 PM
WTT Small pistol primers*and*Large rifle primers RLIGHT Reloading Equipment and Components 2 04-27-2009 10:47 PM
Can't find primers in large rifle mag or large pistol mag tax_cpa Reloading 31 03-19-2009 11:27 AM
Large rifle magnum primers USMC M38A1 Reloading Equipment and Components 11 04-05-2008 12:32 PM
Large Rifle primers vs Magnum Small Rifle primers bwaites Reloading 4 09-06-2007 12:25 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC