Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics

Tuning Devices?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-06-2008, 11:54 AM
Platinum Member

Tuning Devices?

I see that Butch Lambert at shadetree engineering is going to be making/selling a muzzle device to theoretically place the "anti-node" or dead spot or whatever at the muzzle to diminish verticle disbursion due to velocity variances. Bill Calfee describes it as stopping the muzzle.

I have been reading about this over on benchrest central with some skepticism, but hey when Bill Calfee, Jim Borden & Jackie Schmidt and others beleive in it enough to start cutting up barrels, there just might be something to it.

I am a newbie to precision shooting and sure that there are folks here that fully comprehend the arguments occuring on that site. I think I have a minimal understanding. I dont guess I have to understand how it works as long as it does work.

What do you guys think about these new devices? Do these tuners have a place in the LRH's aresenal?

I am thinking that maybe the muzzle could be "stopped" (as described by Calfee) for a known specific distance, but that it would probably be a detriment to accuracy over a broad range of distances.

I made the body for one last night and will try and make the weights tonight. If I dont lose a finger on the lathe I should be able to test it next weekend. Most everyone testing them are going to be doing the testing at specific distances. I want to know how they effect POI over a broad range of distances.
Old 03-06-2008, 12:23 PM
Platinum Member

Lot of work being done on that right now by several people and the issue has not been settled on exactly how they work.

Lynn (from CA) probably has the most experience for 1k shooters and he is working along with some others on redefining the tuner for LR guns.

Should be interesting.