Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics

Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics Applied Ballistics


Reply

Tikka T3 accuracy issue

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #8  
Old 07-06-2013, 07:46 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 12
Re: Tikka T3 accuracy issue

As I read it. You changed out the stock, rifle shot well the first outing, second time not so good. Then you had the stock bedded and rechecked the mounts (torqued etc). First time out it shot well, second time not so well.
Still sounds like the Talley's might be the source of your troubles. Retorque them again and see if the same issue presents.
As I posted above I have had this issue myself. I also went the B&C Medalist route. I even went back to the one inch Tikka supplied rings for a while and the problem went away. Tried an EGW rail. It stayed put for longer but the same issue cropped up after about ten shots. The amount of movement I was getting was tiny. I could only just feel it and it usually only became fully evedent when removing the rings for another mounting exercise. The groups just opened up with no real change in zero. I think the flat surface on the Tikka receiver which has grooves running the length of it that reduce contact area between the bases even further, make for a poor mounting arrangement. They are fine with dovetailed mounts, but struggle with any that rely on screws alone. I eventually sourced a rail from the Tikka Perforamce Centre that had a steel stud that located in the blind hole machined at the forward end of the receiver. It was an interference fit and had to be tapped in gently with a hammer. It has never given problems since (300 plus rounds).
By the way I torque all my Tikka B&C stocked rifles to 55"lbs, bedded or not.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-06-2013, 08:16 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: SE PA
Posts: 228
Re: Tikka T3 accuracy issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pnumatix View Post
As I read it. You changed out the stock, rifle shot well the first outing, second time not so good. Then you had the stock bedded and rechecked the mounts (torqued etc). First time out it shot well, second time not so well.
Still sounds like the Talley's might be the source of your troubles. Retorque them again and see if the same issue presents.
As I posted above I have had this issue myself. I also went the B&C Medalist route. I even went back to the one inch Tikka supplied rings for a while and the problem went away. Tried an EGW rail. It stayed put for longer but the same issue cropped up after about ten shots. The amount of movement I was getting was tiny. I could only just feel it and it usually only became fully evedent when removing the rings for another mounting exercise. The groups just opened up with no real change in zero. I think the flat surface on the Tikka receiver which has grooves running the length of it that reduce contact area between the bases even further, make for a poor mounting arrangement. They are fine with dovetailed mounts, but struggle with any that rely on screws alone. I eventually sourced a rail from the Tikka Perforamce Centre that had a steel stud that located in the blind hole machined at the forward end of the receiver. It was an interference fit and had to be tapped in gently with a hammer. It has never given problems since (300 plus rounds).
By the way I torque all my Tikka B&C stocked rifles to 55"lbs, bedded or not.



Thanks for the reply. Pretty much here are my 4 trips to the range so far after the B&C stock was installed

1. Rifle shot well about 3/4" average between 4 different groups
2. Groups opened up to about 1 1/2"-2"
3. Had rifle bedded since the second trip and the groups shrank to around 1/2"
4. Groups opened back up to around 1 1/2 to 2" again.


At no point in time have i removed the scope or rings. I would agree that the mounts could be a problem if the rifle didnt shoot so well during trip #3.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-07-2013, 10:04 AM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 715
Re: Tikka T3 accuracy issue

I noticed that on the Scout model that comes with a Tikka base, they used green loctite (European version of our Red) to glue the base to the receiver. They may have a good reason for doing that.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-07-2013, 10:54 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: SW Montana
Posts: 4,549
Re: Tikka T3 accuracy issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike 338 View Post
I noticed that on the Scout model that comes with a Tikka base, they used green loctite (European version of our Red) to glue the base to the receiver. They may have a good reason for doing that.
Green loktite is not the same as the red, it's for close fitting parts like bearings and stuff, I use the heck out of both colors. Never though of using it on a base but that would be the kind of thing that the green would be good for.
__________________
High Fence, Low Fence, Stuck in the Fence, if I can Tag it and Eat it, it's Hunting!

"Pain is weakness leaving your body"
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-07-2013, 11:31 AM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: West Wendover, NV
Posts: 199
Re: Tikka T3 accuracy issue

Warne makes their maxima rings in 1in and 30mm for the tikkas. They have a pin in them that fits into the hole on the top of the receiver just like the factory rings do. They also clamp onto the 'base' that is on the top of the receiver. You don't need a separate mount using these rings. I used them on my T3 in 270 WSM and I have had no issues at all.

Maxima Tikka Rings

Last edited by Black Sheep; 07-07-2013 at 11:47 AM. Reason: added link
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-07-2013, 03:09 PM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 95
Re: Tikka T3 accuracy issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Black Sheep View Post
Warne makes their maxima rings in 1in and 30mm for the tikkas. They have a pin in them that fits into the hole on the top of the receiver just like the factory rings do. They also clamp onto the 'base' that is on the top of the receiver. You don't need a separate mount using these rings. I used them on my T3 in 270 WSM and I have had no issues at all.

Maxima Tikka Rings
I have a T3 in a Bell & Carlson in 338 win mag using the Warne direct mount rings and have not experienced any of those issues. Nothing but great accuracy.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-08-2013, 10:56 AM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 715
Re: Tikka T3 accuracy issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigngreen View Post
Green loktite is not the same as the red, it's for close fitting parts like bearings and stuff, I use the heck out of both colors. Never though of using it on a base but that would be the kind of thing that the green would be good for.
Yeah, I didn't know how else to explain it. You'll need some high heat (torch) to separate treated parts.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC