Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics

SIERRA M.K. OR SCIROCCO

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-26-2002, 01:32 PM
Bronze Member

SIERRA M.K. OR SCIROCCO

I AM NEW TO LONGRANGE SHOOTING, WILL TRY 4 TO 500 YDS FOR WHITETAIL THIS YEAR, ANY OPINIONS ON SIERRA MATCH KING VS SWIFT SCIROCCO IN 7MM REM MAG. PREVIOUS LONG SHOT IS 250 YARDS.
7 MM. REM MAG
24" HART BARREL
GUN BUILT BY JARRETT
Old 08-26-2002, 01:45 PM
Platinum Member

Re: SIERRA M.K. OR SCIROCCO

George,
Those two bullets are very different in construction and intended purpose. Supposedly the Match King is a paper puncher whereas the Scirocco has its core bonded to the jacket and will retain about 80% of its original weight.

Despite the paper-puncher tag the Match Kings kill a lot of big game animals, particularly by guys on this forum. I killed critters with both bullets last year - they all ended up about equally dead.

Suggest using whichever bullet your rifle shoots best - if you are hunting deer you won't go wrong if you put either bullet through the chest at whatever range you can shoot to.
Old 08-27-2002, 01:00 PM

George, don't use the MK's for whitetail in a 7mm. I'd use a matchking in a 250 or 300 grain for one of the big 30's like the 338 lapua or 338 ultra-mag.

But....in the smaller 140 - 160 grain bullet weights of 7mm's, use the SWIFT SCIROCCO.

I personally would use the Barnes XLC 140 BT or the Barnes X 140 flat base. A lot of guys do not like them but I get a little better than MOA accuracy and out to 500 yards thats plenty. They are the best killing bullet I have ever seen.

Also, you might want to rebarrel to the 7mm ultra mag if you want to get into longer ranger shooting.

Happy Hunting
Old 08-27-2002, 11:45 PM
Silver Member

I have shoot factory Norma 140 gr 7 rem mag with SIROCCO ,in a MACMILLAN rifle