Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics

Which round, which rifle?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-23-2012, 11:12 PM
Silver Member

Re: Which round, which rifle?

Sako flat out makes a GOOD rifle, no ifs ands or buts about it. I am not a Sako fanboi or anything like that, in fact I am a bit of a "Whore" in that I like many different brands Savage is good, Winchester is solid these days, Howa / Vanguard are sweet shooters as well. I have a friend who bought a Tikka in 25-06 and it shoots very well out of the box with oem ammo.

7mmRM is an absolute time proven performer no doubt about it. The 7mm WSM as chambered by Winchester is also rock solid. Hard to go wrong for sure. Another real nice round is the 270 WSM, just sort of fyi.

The Ruger American Rifle™ Bolt-Action Rifle Models
This looks promising .... I have no first hand experience with it, but from what I have read, and from what I can discern it really might become a nice hunters tool! I am really seriously considering picking one up to tinker with

Good Shooting sir,
Gary
Old 03-23-2012, 11:34 PM
Silver Member

I would seriously consider a 7mm Rem. Mag., you can get ammo almost anywhere, they are accurate and powerful. Your bullet selection is very good also. The more you shoot, the more you will want to reload and that is were you can pick up at little more power and accuracy and quality bullets. Now all you have to do is pick the make of rifle you want, I like Remington 700's and Winchester model 70's, but there are a lot of good quality rifles out there now of many manufacturers. I don't thing there is a bad choice, just your personal preference.
FE
Old 03-23-2012, 11:41 PM
Silver Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by diriel View Post