Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics

Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics Applied Ballistics

remington frankenstein

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-24-2010, 08:39 PM
Silver Member

remington frankenstein

So I know I'm relatively new here, but I enjoy longrange shooting and the art within. I am by no means an expert, and I do by no means have an un ending supply of money for my hobby. So let me tell you my experiment to be. First I researched switch barrel firearms and was led to the savage door. What a versatile rifle isnt it? Well there is a problem. I dont like savage actions. I am a remington man by heart and as so I dont have a very expansive gun cabinet. I do have a piece together LTR. I say piece together because it started as a standard SPS. Later I added the .308 fluted 20'' barrel and then and HS precision stock. So it is my piece together. See picture below.

Sorry about the quality.
Anyway I wanted the versatility of the Savage rifle but with the remington action and with research galore here is what I find.
My first Remington switch barrel rifle - Sniper's Hide Forums
The rem nut offered by PacNor
Custom rifle barrels for varmint hunters to serious benchrest shooters. PAC-NOR Barreling, Inc. - Precision Rifle Barrels - Pac-Nor.com

This barrel nut is pretty much the same as a savage nut, only it is threaded for Remington barrels 1 and 1/16 tpi by 60 I believe. Dont shoot me if I'm wrong It uses the standard savage barrel nut wrench that can easily and cheaply be purchased at
MidwayUSA - Advanced Search