Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics

remington 700 sps tactical

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-05-2010, 10:37 AM

remington 700 sps tactical

hey all , my name is mike im new to the fourm. this spring i am going to taking a long range shoooting class, i dont yet have a rifle but i am in the market for one. i was considering the 700 sps tactical in .308 to get me started and then when the funds allow for it i would make some up grades to it. i was wondering what your guy's thoughts are on this rifle and possibly what this rifle is accurate out to ?
Old 11-05-2010, 11:06 AM
Platinum Member

Re: remington 700 sps tactical

Hi Mike,

you're off to a good start here, and assuming the rifle shoots accurately to start with, should do you fine for some time to come. As far as the effective range question, that's a bit subjective. The 308 is very widely used as a 1,000 yard target cartridge, but those are specialty rifles built just for that purpose; very specific throating, specialized chambers and bullets matched to this type of shooting. With a standard off-the-rack rifle, given some good long range ammo like the M118LR or a commercial equivalent, I'd say 700-800 yards shouldn't be out of reach, assuming you're willing got put in the trigger time.

I'f you're handloading already, you can get a head start here by selecting bullets that are suitable for these distances, basically a 175 grain and up. Don't hesitate to ask questions here, and you'll find more than a few answers to ponder. Welcome to the site!
Old 08-12-2012, 04:19 AM