Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics

Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics Applied Ballistics


Reply

Question for you magneto speed guys

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #8  
Old 09-26-2013, 01:05 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 901
Re: Question for you magneto speed guys

I just yesterday got a V1 and am very happy with it so far. Yesterday I fired about 40 rounds across it from 3 different rifles with great results. It provided the most consistent readings of any device I ever used. Very easy and simple to set-up and use. The control unit is very quick and easy to use as well. Can't go wrong with it in my opinion.
__________________
7mmSendaro

NRA Life Member
ISRA Member
RMEF Member
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-26-2013, 01:06 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Northern Colorado, Saint Francis, KS
Posts: 112
Re: Question for you magneto speed guys

Thanks for the replies guys. I ordered the V-1, so it should be here tomorrow. Now if the new gun will show up so I can test it out.

Its a good thing my girlfriend hasn't seen what I'm spending on new guns, optics, and parts this year. AShe would really be giving me grief about being able to buy her a ring already.
__________________
Pic out a spot,a single hair, and aim for that spot.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-26-2013, 01:09 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Townsend, Montana.
Posts: 7,934
Re: Question for you magneto speed guys

I have used both the V1 and V2 , I now own the V2. I have ran at least 8 or 10 rifles across these and I have yet to see the V2 do anything the V1 could not do just as well. Just a few more bells for the V2 and the suppressor capabilities.

Jeff
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-26-2013, 02:00 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Northeast
Posts: 2,423
Re: Question for you magneto speed guys

Quote:
Originally Posted by AZShooter View Post
Greyfox.

I am aware this thread is about the magnetospeed chrono. Sure I got off the theme of the thread. Was commenting to Bodywerks about his desire to buy a SuperChrono.

Bodywerks made a comment in his last thread that he is selling his V-1 magnetospeed: "I'm selling mine, too, though. And not for a v2 but rather an acoustic chronograph".



I want to get a magnetospeed and have been following this thread for that very reason.

Ross
Thanks Ross, I missed the former post.
__________________

"Let us speak courteously, deal fairly, and keep ourselves armed and ready"-T. Roosevelt
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-26-2013, 02:35 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: California Central Coast
Posts: 1,352
Re: Question for you magneto speed guys

I have a v1 and v2.

V1 for "normal" weight barrels. Sometimes it's hard to fit a v2 to a light weight barrel..

V2 for heavies, big breaks, MSR, antique military.

I will be using it tonight on a Weatherby and Winchester M88 so it will be the v1.
__________________
Fred Seaman
“Ask, Listen, Learn, Grow”
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-26-2013, 07:33 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: South of Canada and North of Wyoming
Posts: 5,953
Re: Question for you magneto speed guys

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bodywerks View Post
V 1 is fine for anything but cans and the biggest brakes. I used one on my 338 with a fat bastard brake without issue.
I'm selling mine, too, though. And not for a v2 but rather an acoustic chronograph. Magneto speed is accurate but it affects POI in a big way so you can't shoot for groups or do load development at the same time. The acoustic chrony is just as accurate and the same price.
Not too sure about that... did you see the data posted in the other thread? In a comparison of the SuperChrono and Magnetospeed against an Oehler, the Magneto speed was more accurate and consistent.... assuming the Oehler was accurate. and no reason not to assume that.

The SuperChrono's inconsistancies "may" have been because it was set up closer (I set it up) than the recommended distance by the manufacturer, for magnums and high velocity rounds. Coincidentally, it was the higher velocity rounds that were least accurate compared to the Oehler. I plan to have both the V1 and Superchrono and when I get the V1, I will be conducting another test with the SuperChrono. One good thing was the ES's recorded were close to the Oehler and Magnetospeed.

When I'm developing a load, I can use both and determine the difference for that load, i.e., SuperChrono records velocity for that load 50 fps slow than the Magneto. Once I know the accurate velocity of the load from the Magneto, I can use the SuperChrono for all other velocity data for that load by applying the difference factor and not be concerned with POI shift. I can also use the SuperChrono anywhere down range to confirm velocities down range. That will help me fine tune BC's and know where my effective range is limited to.

The fact you don't have a readout on the bench is a draw back, but I've been dealing with that for years anyway. Also, Steinert is coming out with a wireless bluetooth version

SuperChrono Pro

If when testing with the SuperChrono properly set up, it proves to be consistent with the Magnetospeed, well then everything is great all around.
__________________
- Mark

You will never know how much it has cost my generation to preserve your freedom. I hope you make good use of it.
~ John Quincy Adams
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC