Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics

Question on body taper.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-15-2009, 10:25 AM
Gold Member

Question on body taper.

I am new to the whole wildcatting thing and am spending hours reading through old posts on this site.

I wish to thank all the members for the time they put into this site and their pursuit of long range nirvana.

Hopefully this question is not too ignorant.

Is there a reason that one would avoid straightening the body taper on the 30-06? Say for instance when going to the 280AI, I would guess that you would gain some additional powder capacity by also straightening out the case wall.

Is it due to case extraction?

Ad if that is the case, would a sako style extractor be able to manage the process?

Edit,

I guess it also depends on if the case already has more than enough capacity.....I am as stated before, just getting started so my questions may be totally ignorant. I am not knowledgeable as to case capacity of the 280AI, but looking at how they beefed up the 284shehane started me thinking in this direction. Just trying to get the most out of my 30-06 action.
“When a long train of abuses and usurpations, pursuing invariably the same object evinces a design to reduce them under absolute despotism, it is their right, it is their duty to throw off such governments. …” Jefferson

We are very close to this point now.

Last edited by Aldon; 12-15-2009 at 10:33 AM.
Old 12-16-2009, 09:22 AM
Gold Member

Re: Question on body taper.

Here you go:
.280 Ackley Improved
Old 12-16-2009, 09:58 AM
Gold Member

Thanks for the link Rock.

I was aware that the Shoulder angle on the AI was increased to ~ 40 degrees.