Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics

View Poll Results: Prefered Barrel Manufacturer.
BRUX 11 24.44%
Hart 11 24.44%
Lilja 20 44.44%
Shilen 3 6.67%
Voters: 45. You may not vote on this poll

Preferred Barrel for LRH

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2009, 08:55 AM
Bronze Member

Preferred Barrel for LRH

Good Morning.

I am a newbie to the forum. I have been reading for the last few days about custom rifles for the LHR of large game. There is a lot of information and a large number of members with incredable amounts of experience. That a great site. Any assistance y'all can provide is appreciated.

Most of my experience has been at ranges of 400 yards or less hunting whitetails in the southeast. THe average range for whitetails here is 75 yards. It is possiblel to get some longer shots if you hunt over corn or soybean fields or hunt in pulp wooded hardwood stands.

I am in the process of getting the equipment and learning how to hunt Antelope, Muleys and Elk out west. I am going to rebarrel a rifle to learn to shoot 1000 yards. Then at some point build a custom rifle. I like the 7mm, and I am rebarreling a 7mm WSM to shoot 168 and 180 Berger VLDs.

If you have experience with either rebarreling or custom builds for LHR, would you vote in the poll for the barrel manufacturer that you prefer based on accuracy and throat wear.

Thanks.

Mike

Last edited by 7mm Eclipse; 01-21-2009 at 09:09 AM. Reason: Additional info.
Old 01-21-2009, 11:43 AM
Platinum Member

Re: Preferred Barrel for LRH

Mine is not listed---Krieger and I have used Hart in the past. I use Krierger on all of mine competition and sporters.
Old 01-21-2009, 12:03 PM
Platinum Member

Of those posted I like Brux , their customer service is great and the turn around time is better.