Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics

Old Fashioned Turret Wraps

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-16-2007, 08:44 PM
Platinum Member

Old Fashioned Turret Wraps

So many people have sent me emails over the years asking for Browndog’s and 4ked Horns turret wrap programs. These were developed for 308s and one is in MS Word and one is in Excel. Both are developed for a particular load and worse yet for a particular scope so they are useless except as an example of how to do it on a computer.

Back in 1979, before there were home computers and fancy stuff, I built a turret wrap that was accurate out to 1300 yards. So I have some knowledge of how to do it without a computer.

For the people who want a turret wrap but are not computer geeks, here is how to do it. If I got something backward then just say so and we will get it right for the next guys.

OK, Here we go!

1. Shoot your groups out to what ever range you are comfortable to and record the drops and temperature.

[IMG][/IMG]
2. Grab your hex wrench and take off the scope turret

[IMG][/IMG]

3. Take a scissors and cut a piece of plain paper about four inches long and 1/8 to ¼ inch wide. This you will make into a ruler for your dial.

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

4. Take the strip of paper and lay it up against and around your scope dial with one end starting at “zero” and with a very sharp pencil or extra fine point pen scribe the piece of paper for every mark on the scope dial until your get back to “zero” and cut it off there with the scissors . And mark the “zero”. Now then, this strip of paper will be your “ruler” for measuring out your drops on the next strip of paper you will be cutting out.

[IMG][/IMG]