Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics

Novice Question on Rifle Performance

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-18-2013, 09:44 AM

Novice Question on Rifle Performance

I am a novice at long range shooting (Im a bowhunter). I have two rifles and Id like to know their effective range as mid to long range options. Taking the shooter out of the equation and just discussing the capiblitites of the rifle set ups.

1. .257 weatherby Mark V with a Leupold III 6.5x20x40. Shooting factory 110 gr nosler accubonds. Thinking of putting a Kenton knob on this scope if 500yds or so yards is regularly obtainable?

2. .300 WSM in Rem 700 with a Vortex HSLR 4x16x50 with turret. Accurized by Hill Country Rifles down here in Central Texas. Shooting Federal Prem. 180 gr. Barnes Triple Shock per their recommendation and set up. Will this gun be effective out to 700-800?
Old 01-18-2013, 10:08 AM
Platinum Member

Re: Novice Question on Rifle Performance

Quote:
Originally Posted by KC Huntin View Post
I am a novice at long range shooting (Im a bowhunter). I have two rifles and Id like to know their effective range as mid to long range options. Taking the shooter out of the equation and just discussing the capiblitites of the rifle set ups.

1. .257 weatherby Mark V with a Leupold III 6.5x20x40. Shooting factory 110 gr nosler accubonds. Thinking of putting a Kenton knob on this scope if 500yds or so yards is regularly obtainable?

2. .300 WSM in Rem 700 with a Vortex HSLR 4x16x50 with turret. Accurized by Hill Country Rifles down here in Central Texas. Shooting Federal Prem. 180 gr. Barnes Triple Shock per their recommendation and set up. Will this gun be effective out to 700-800?
Yes, I believe both are capable of taking game at those distances! In my opinion, you are set for coyotes to moose!