Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics

Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics Applied Ballistics

New rifle modification suggestions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2011, 11:06 AM
Bronze Member

New rifle modification suggestions

Hello all,

I am a new poster to this site but have been spying for quite some time. I really think most people on this site have some very good opinions.

I was wondering if everyone could make a few suggestions on what is needed to make my brand new Remington Sendero SF II 300 RUM a long range shooter as I am new to this type of shooting. I already have a seekins 20 moa rail and rings along with the new viper pst ffp 4-16 scope by vortex.

I am open to all suggestions but don't want to spend over 500-600 on the changes. If it helps, I think I will be reloading my own ammo as I have been told this is one of the best things I can do to improve the accuracy of the gun.

Thanks for your help!

-Fred
Old 02-24-2011, 12:56 PM
Gold Member

Re: New rifle modification suggestions

I would definitely spend the money on reloading equipment and a good reloading manual. Do lots of reading before you dive in. Reloading can be dangerous if you don't know what you are doing.
Old 02-24-2011, 06:07 PM

I have the same rifle you do. Mine is top off with a vortec Razor. I put a break on and a new jewell trigger but your rifle might have the self adjusting Mark X trigger. Mine did not have the mark X trigger because of the year i bought it.The break made a big different in shooting it. recoil is down about 50%. It is fun to shoot now but loud.
Old 02-24-2011, 06:50 PM
Platinum Member