Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics

New build options

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-01-2011, 06:57 PM
Silver Member

New build options

Finally getting everything for my new build. Most of the parts will be at my house by the end of the week. Still got a few months until my stock is ready. Now I got to figure out details. This is my first build and I need some options with chambering. The rifle will be chambered for a 300 win mag, but don't know whats best as far as tight, Standard etc.. If you were going to build a 300 win mag to long range hunt how would you set it up? Here's the components that will be on this rifle.

1. Brux Rem Varmint barrel 1-11 twist
2. Jewell trigger
3. Remington factory action
4. TPS 20 moa base and Seekins 30mm rings
5. Mcmillian Remington Hunter stock
6. 185 grain berger hunting bullets

The more ideas you give me the better. I am open to all suggestions

Thanks,
Tony Keith
Old 08-01-2011, 07:34 PM
Platinum Member

Re: New build options

Since your intent is to hunt with the rifle, you do not want a 'tight' chamber. This can cause problems in the field if a small piece of debris gets in there.

Are you totally committed to 300winmag? Why not go all out with 300RUM?

Rest of your build sounds great!
Old 08-01-2011, 07:59 PM
Platinum Member

I'm with you as far as the 300 WM for a hunting rifle. Set it up with a standard chamber. You can shoot it well with no brake and can tap an elk 800-1000 yards with the right load.

Your list looks good. Get a good scope on that baby and your ready to go. I just did a rifle similar with a Brux #5 and a McMillan Adj HTG. Finished at 10.75 lbs out the door.

There is something about the outside of a horse that is good for the inside of a man. Sir Winston Churchill.