Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics

New 6.5 Idea

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2013, 08:57 PM
Platinum Member

Re: New 6.5 Idea

Quote:
Originally Posted by MontanaRifleman View Post
Yup, I would try Superperformance and RL33. I have no experience with those yet.
From what I've read, I think 33 would be too slow in that case. Seems it is slower than Retumbo......Rich
Old 02-17-2013, 10:36 PM
Silver Member

Thanks for the suggestions guys, we have been discussing our next test and the powders to try but the real question is whether the little case will hold enough slow powder to get any velocity? I've got a pillar bedding job ready to put in the glue in the morning and then I'm going to sit at the scales and see how many grains of the various slower powders, I can get into the case using a long drop tube with swirl charging. Bulky powders are not going to work in this case. --- RHB
Old 02-17-2013, 10:45 PM
Platinum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by 7mmRHB View Post
Thanks for the suggestions guys, we have been discussing our next test and the powders to try but the real question is whether the little case will hold enough slow powder to get any velocity? I've got a pillar bedding job ready to put in the glue in the morning and then I'm going to sit at the scales and see how many grains of the various slower powders, I can get into the case using a long drop tube with swirl charging. Bulky powders are not going to work in this case. --- RHB
I think I would try some N560 and RL22. Maybe RL25.......Rich
Old 02-17-2013, 11:01 PM
Platinum Member

Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by marioq View Post
The question is...... Where to find 33???
I was hoping I could get some from you

Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by elkaholic View Post