Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics

Need Advice: New Long Range Muzzleloader

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-16-2005, 03:09 PM

Need Advice: New Long Range Muzzleloader

I am fairly new to this site and have been hunting with a custom 7mm STW for a couple of years. The problem with long range hunting is that during the muzzleloading season, using production muzzleloaders is rather boring.

I have been looking around for an accurate long range muzzleloader and came across this site: www.badbullmuzzleloaders.com

Since I am a novice compared with most of you on this board, I thought you could tell me what you think of these guns. I have spoken with them on the phone and they are super nice and seem legit. I was hoping someone here might have some insight on these or similar muzzleloaders.

Thanks!
Shawn Murdock
Old 12-16-2005, 04:56 PM
Silver Member

Re: Need Advice: New Long Range Muzzleloader

I can understand your frustrations with a factory muzzleloader that is why in the last year I have dove off into the smokeless muzzleloader scene. I tried the custom black powder barrel on an encore with free-floated barrel with great results on the range. Although when it comes time to hunt, I hunt on a fouled barrel just like at the range. Well, in a day or so the barrel is rusted. Good luck trying to hit anything on a rusted barrel.

I have since then had a swing-lock muzzleloader built, although it is relatively expensive compared to a stock rifle, it is about half as much as a bad bull muzzleloader.