close
Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics

Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics Applied Ballistics

My Custom .308 Norma Magnum Build

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 03-01-2014, 04:47 PM
Platinum Member

My Custom .308 Norma Magnum Build

This is a thread I'm starting to follow along with the custom .308 Norma Mag I'm building with my Dad and Uncle. We are doing all of the work ourselves and I'm really liking the project. It is my first time ever building my own custom rifle. I have helped my Dad do simple work before but never anything like this haha. My Uncle has been doing gunsmithing and building rifles for 40+ years so he is a great man to learn from. My Dad does small time work but built guns in the past so he also is great to work with. I am open to any questions or discussion. Thanks

Here's the Specs:

ACTION: Sporterized Winchester Model 1917 Enfield with floor plate straightened, rear sight ears milled off, stripper clip guides milled off, action trued and lugs lapped, and contoured for a Redfield Remington Model 700 LA one piece base.

BARREL: Hart 1:10 twist, 6 groove, cut at 28" with a custom contour that measures .720 at the muzzle with a target crown

STOCK: Richards Microfit AAA grade American Black Walnut with Rosewood tips and
maple spacers, with extra wide forearm. We are going to do modifications to it in the future once the action and barrel are fully inletted into it.

TRIGGER: Dayton Traister 2-7lbs adjustable with cock on open conversion kit

My Custom .308 Norma Magnum Build-cam00318.jpg
First picture shows the action and barrel just threaded together by hand sitting in the stock so we can inlet it. Once we get the reamer in we will chamber it and tighten the barrel down in the barrel vise.

My Custom .308 Norma Magnum Build-cam00319.jpg