Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics

Long Range Bullets and Terminal Performance

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-02-2008, 01:19 PM
Platinum Member

Long Range Bullets and Terminal Performance

I am new to the long range shooting and hunting scene, and I have questions about long range terminal performance of bullets.

My approach to long range hunting may be a little different than some here. I see it as a way to increase my options and make a kill that would not be possible otherwise, i.e. not enough time to make a stalk or unable to make a stalk due to terrain, cover, etc. My approach to hunting is to get as close to my game as possible, but I do want to develop the skill and ability to confidently make a long range kill.

Having said that, I would be looking for bullets that perform from point blank range to maybe a little beyond a 1000 yds (assuming the rifle is capable).

In my case I am using a 300 WSM. Eventually, I think I would like to have a *caryable* 300 RUM built, or maybe a wildcat magnum.

I am wondering what bullet recomendations and experience you have? I see bullets and loads for my 300 WSM that get me out to 700 - 900 yds at the elevations I hunt, according to their minimum expansion speeds.

I believe I can safely take antelope and possibly deer without bullet expansion, but elk is probably a different story.

I would like to hear your opinions, especially experiences.

Thanks,

Mark

You will never know how much it has cost my generation to preserve your freedom. I hope you make good use of it.
~ John Quincy Adams
Old 06-02-2008, 02:01 PM
Platinum Member

given that you currently have a 300 WSM I'll constrain my comments to bullets and not distance they should/could be used.