Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics

Just getting started

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-11-2004, 07:34 PM

Just getting started

Hey guys, Im new here but Ive been reading a bunch of your posts and I appreciate everything, learned a lot. Ive been shooting a 7mm ultra mag for about 6 months at 500 yds. Ive been reading a lot on reloading lately and I am thinking a good press for me would be the RCBS Ultra mag. For everything else I am getting confused. It would be great to have some suggestions for the other tools. I'm thinking the RCBS case master for sure but the dies, neck turners and everything else im not sure. What else would I be smart to start with? Thanks
Old 02-11-2004, 07:39 PM
Platinum Member

Location: The rifle range, or archery range or behind the computer in Alaska
Re: Just getting started

Al,

Welcome aboard!

A SHORT list of tools are of course, press and shell holders, priming tool, dies ect... Some things needed for the best accuracy are , a good set of calipers, primer flash hole deburrer and primer pocket uniformer. Neck turining tools, and perhaps a concentricity guage and a comparator.

Someone else can fill in the rest. [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
Long range shooting is a process that ends with a result. Once you start to focus on the result (where the shot goes, how big the group is, what your buck will score, what your match score is, what place you are in...) then you loose the capacity to focus on the process.
Old 02-11-2004, 09:35 PM