Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics

Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics Applied Ballistics

How Do You Get A Low "ES" Velocity Number ??

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 02-10-2009, 02:03 AM
Silver Member
Re: How Do You Get A Low "ES" Velocity Number ??

I am by no means an expert, but have seen many argue that variances in the case head and extractor groove can account for much of weight inconsistency of cases. Measuring volume of fire-formed cases may be more useful. I've seen MysticPlayer mention that he measures volume with a fine ball powder - nice idea and quicker and less messy than using water.

That said I only sort by neck wall thickness and unless something is amiss with the load (or neck tension!) achieve SD's of 12 and below and if I've done my bit often 5 or thereabouts.

I started the thread on the case neck issue as it still interests me. I'd also like to hear how others do it. I've tried it with some success, but I'm not sure it helped anything.

I used the Redding neck lube kit - the little jar with the ceramic balls and the dry neck lube.
I simply dipped them in and loaded like that.

So, Broz, Eaglet that's my technique. Seemed okay, but not sure it was better. More testing required.

How are you guys doing it? :-)

Unread 02-10-2009, 02:46 AM
Platinum Member
Re: How Do You Get A Low "ES" Velocity Number ??

I also use the Imperial Dry Neck Lube.