Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics


Reply

How do you account for wind in Exbal or other software

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #8  
Old 03-26-2008, 12:45 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Yakima, Washington
Posts: 3,833
Quote:
The problem is with exbal and not the method.
That's right on. Theoretically I'd say the 1 mph method would be easier to do quickly in your head but, unfortunately, Exbal doesn't cooperate.

I already thought about the 100 mph thing but Exbal limits you to 60 mph. I guess they figure we won't be shooting if the wind gets over 60 mph.

I think I'd personally like to use the 1 mph method for the ease of doing it in my head quickly but I can't stand the inaccuracy of it so it looks like it's 10 mph and some quick math.;)
__________________
ss7mm
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-26-2008, 01:02 AM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Elko, NV
Posts: 461
Quote:
Originally Posted by ss7mm View Post
I already thought about the 100 mph thing but Exbal limits you to 60 mph. I guess they figure we won't be shooting if the wind gets over 60 mph.
.;)
Do 60 then divide the answer by 60. Then compare that to JBM's with the same inputs. Maybe 60 will be accurate enough?

Anyway... I'm going to give this 1 mph method a try
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-26-2008, 02:15 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Yakima, Washington
Posts: 3,833
I compared the results in Exbal using 10 mph and also 60 mph. They were very close, usually within 1/4 moa and 1/2 moa at the most. I don't know how the formulas work that they use and whether the software treats an increase in wind in a linear fashion from 1-60 mph or if there is some difference as the wind gets way higher. I think I'll just stick with the 10 mph factor. It's worked for a long time.
__________________
ss7mm
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-26-2008, 02:24 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Pueblo, CO
Posts: 1,174
Man, i can't rememver the guy's name right now, but he runs the practical riflery forum--same guy that came up with the Ladder system for reloading. Quite the educated LR shooter actually--Highpower i think. He also uses 1 mph dope instead of 10. I haven't tried it yet with my reticles, but intend to soon. I'm not sure how well it will work with reticles, since i divide the wind by the subtension. It oughtta be easier tho.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-27-2008, 03:01 AM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: mathias wv
Posts: 985
SS, hunting here in wv it seems you have 3 different conditions, either no wind, 3-7 mph, or wind gusts from 8-20 mph. real windy days I don't hunt LR much, about 12 mph is my limit, so I set exbal at 3 mph and work from there seems like about evey shot I took last year I dialed in 2 MOA left wind.
RR
__________________
Born to Hunt, Forced to Work!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: How do you account for wind in Exbal or other software
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
QUESTION ABOUT EXBAL´S software. JOSE A. MARINE The Basics, Starting Out 1 05-30-2010 08:30 PM
WTT for Exbal or NF ballistic software slymule Trade, Freebie and Loan 8 09-23-2008 03:31 PM
Exbal or Nightforce Software Capt Academy Reloading 6 05-23-2008 02:18 AM
NF and Exbal software jmason The Basics, Starting Out 9 04-16-2008 06:31 AM
Exbal or Nightforce software on my cell phone? wadedc Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics 3 02-23-2008 11:05 AM

Current Poll
Do you archery hunt for elk?
YES - 32.28%
82 Votes
NO - 50.39%
128 Votes
Not yet, but I plan to. - 17.32%
44 Votes
Total Votes: 254
You may not vote on this poll.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC