Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics

help!! has anyone heard of 8.8 x 72R ??

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-17-2008, 04:26 AM

help!! has anyone heard of 8.8 x 72R ??

Ladies and gents,

just because i'm a beginner to this forum and technical aspects of rifles, doesn't mean i don't love them.

As such, can i please get some help?

I have come into posession of a drilling ie 16 gauge double barrel and a rifled barrel underneath.

on that barrel it is stamped 8.8 x 72, or rather exactly "8,8mm ---- (over) 72"

The model and brand of the firearm is unknown however only proofing marks that are readable are "nitro" "ERFUT" (lead me to believe it is a mauser or sauer) and a number of other proofing marks which i have been unable to make out.

The gun is old, i estimate about 1940 something. it has a name, probably of a manufacturer on the top bead which starts as "arnold" the surname is a german name that i can no longer read but is probably about 20 letters long.

So whats the problem?

I have searched high and low in australia for anyone who has ever heard of this calibre. the closest thing available is an 8 x 72 R and while the "72R" bit is right (the bullets i'm looking for should be rimmed), the 8 isn't. its to small

so i had a mould made up, of a poxy. the venier calipers tell me that at the head of the shell it should be 6.5mm and the mouth is approx 4.85-4.90mm.

i am yet to send the mould to a manufacturer in victoria (bertram bullets), however after speaking to them on the phone, initial indications don't look to good

i have consulted the cartridges of the world book at the local gun shop and apparently, according to the man behind the counter, a very very VERY close match is a bullet called "333 jefferys flange" which however is an obsolete model.

bottom line is, i cannot find the right size for this!

what next?