close
Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics

Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics Applied Ballistics

Reply

Getting an AR-15 to "shoot"

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 07-03-2009, 06:59 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: SW Montana
Posts: 552
Getting an AR-15 to "shoot"

I have a DPMS 24" bull 1:9. I recently tried some 75 gr A-maxes that Savtac generously donated to me and was pleased to see that they shot about MOA at 2850 fps with Benchmark powder. I was well over magazine length with them.

EVERYTHING I have loaded for this gun shoots right around 1 MOA. The only difference I notice is on the chrono. What does it take to tighten these things up? I was hoping to try these A-maxes on gophers at around 4-500 yards while using 55 gr B-tips for the close stuff, but that's a small target at that distance. Is there a trick to reloading or is it in the gun itself?


Thanks for any help.
Reply With Quote
  •   #2  
    Unread 07-03-2009, 07:04 PM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Jan 2008
    Location: SOCIALIST CONTROLLED TERRITORY OF NEW YORK
    Posts: 4,400
    Re: Getting an AR-15 to "shoot"

    Sounds like you got it all dialed in. Have any of your buddys shot it for groups?
    Reply With Quote

      #3  
    Unread 07-04-2009, 10:14 AM
    Bronze Member
     
    Join Date: Mar 2008
    Location: foraker OK
    Posts: 75
    Re: Getting an AR-15 to "shoot"

    Try a aftermarket trigger and like ICANHITHIMMAN said have someone shoot groups with it .
    Reply With Quote
      #4  
    Unread 07-04-2009, 11:49 AM
    Gold Member
     
    Join Date: Dec 2002
    Location: mathias wv
    Posts: 987
    Re: Getting an AR-15 to "shoot"

    I have an 8 twist 24" RRA, I shoot ultramax reman 55 gr to beyond 500 yards. this rifle regularly shoots 3 shot groups in the .2's at 100 yards.from my experience with AR's 1 MOA is average for the light barreled standard AR's , a varminter should do a bit better. who makes Panthers barrels? shaw?
    RR
    __________________
    Born to Hunt, Forced to Work!
    Reply With Quote
      #5  
    Unread 07-06-2009, 08:09 AM
    Gold Member
     
    Join Date: Oct 2008
    Location: SW Montana
    Posts: 552
    Re: Getting an AR-15 to "shoot"

    I took it out again yesterday. I was able to get a 2 1/4" group at 300 yards and a friend of mine grouped right about 2". I guess its not really that bad. I may play with seating depth a bit to see what happens.

    Thanks.
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Bookmarks

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes


    Similar Threads for: Getting an AR-15 to "shoot"
    Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
    Anyone buy/shoot the "new" Browning A-Bolt slug gun?? toader Long Range Shotgun Slug Hunting 15 06-19-2012 05:51 PM
    "SOLD"Wts-John Burns/How to Shoot Beyond Belief Videos vferguson3006 Other Stuff For Sale 0 03-20-2011 11:29 AM
    "Shoot" for Android phone's Topshot Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics 37 02-10-2011 03:49 PM
    WTS: 3 "not long range" guns (Mini-14, 541T-HB, "Old" Vaquero) mattj Guns For Sale 6 03-01-2010 02:10 AM
    need a "won't shoot anymore" checklist goose Reloading 7 08-06-2009 07:10 AM


    All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:05 AM.


    Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
    Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
    All content ©2010-2015 Long Range Hunting, LLC