Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics

Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics Applied Ballistics

Extreme spread / Standard Deviation

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-11-2002, 03:26 PM
Silver Member

Re: Extreme spread / Standard Deviation

If I can throw in my two cents, I have had some experience with moly. You DEFINATELY have to condition the bore to use the coated bullets (Brownell's Moly Paste works pretty well for this). Switching between coated and uncoated bullets tends to cause a problem also.

I have pretty much gotten away from Moly bullets, a lot of the BR guys I know have to. One of the big problems they were having, was the Moly was trapping moisture in the barrels. Not a good thing.

These are just my experiences, I'm sure people have had others, just wanted to throw my two cents in.

Jim
Old 02-11-2002, 03:29 PM
Silver Member

When you want to get your rounds to be within 20 fps, the Chrony simply won't cut it. I own one and can tell you it's a joke. It will put you in the ballpark but it's just not capable of reading as accurately as is needed by many shooters.
It is also extremely fickle about light conditions. Mine was a waste of money pure and simple.
Old 02-11-2002, 04:50 PM
Gold Member

Hmmm... Not the best of news... moly bad... chrony bad... [img]images/icons/frown.gif[/img]

Oh, well. Truth hurts sometimes!!