Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics

Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics Applied Ballistics

Exbal help for long range newbi

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-09-2009, 03:47 PM

Exbal help for long range newbi

I am new to long range shooting and these forums so please bear with me here. I have read through the sticky post about altitude vs. barometric pressure, but I still have questions.

My only source for pressure (for now) is calling our local airport and getting the AWOS broadcast, I believe this is corrected pressure but I am not sure. So far the pressure that AWOS gives is the same as internet weather reports for my area.

When using Exbal:

1. Should I enter the AWOS pressure and uncheck calculate std. Pressure?
  2. How do I enter new atmospheric data in the “Trajectory Validation” screen for each shooting session?
Thanks for any help.

Tom

Old 10-09-2009, 05:18 PM
Platinum Member

Re: Exbal help for long range newbi

Tom-

1. Should I enter the AWOS pressure and uncheck calculate std. Pressure? No (however if this is incorrect someone will correct me shortly) I always used a kestrel( for on the spot pressure or "station pressure") and a gps for Alt. Only when you do it that way do you uncheck Calculate STD. pressure".
  2. How do I enter new atmospheric data in the “Trajectory Validation” screen for each shooting session? You only validate your trajectory one time. When you do it will use the conditions you input in the field conditions that day for the validation function. You can then Calculate and chose to use the new trajectory info and exbal will adjust your muzzle velocity.
Old 10-10-2009, 05:58 AM
Gold Member

You need to have the bar pressure as close as you can get it. Bar pressure effectively changes your BC.