Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics

Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics Applied Ballistics


Reply

Exbal Ballistic Reticle Analysis Question

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-28-2007, 03:18 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2
Exbal Ballistic Reticle Analysis Question

I have exbal and understand most of it but am having a hard time with the Ballistic Reticle Analysis program. I have a Leupold 8.5-25x x50 30mm scope with a varmit reticle. I actually have several questions. Is this the large or small reticle? Is the reticle in the second focal plane? What is the calibration power? I have tried the program in the field and sighted in so that the first bar would be close at 400, the second at 500 and the third at 600. At 400 yards it was very close, but at 500 and 600 yards it shot way high. Im sure I am not doing something right as the program has worked great when I use the dial up method for long range. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-28-2007, 06:27 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: buffalo, OK
Posts: 354
i have a vx3 with a varmit reticle and you have to go by the little book that comes with it. It tells you at what range to zero and what triangle to put the power selector on to match your caliber, bullet, fps. You can go to leupold.com and download the manual for the varmit reticle.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-28-2007, 06:31 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: buffalo, OK
Posts: 354
I just looked at the manual and for all the calibers listed they zero at 200 yards or 300 yards for very fast calibers. My 300 mag with 180 AB @ 3100 fps zero is at 200 yards and large triangle.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-29-2007, 12:24 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: AB, Canada
Posts: 555
Hi,
I got Exball 2 days ago, and The same I have hard time to setup Exball on my Shooting Zoom Setings.

On Balistic Reticle Analysis - Optimize Operating Power, I want to calibrate and generate bullet drop in MIL's and Clicks NOT IN 20X (factory Calibration Power Scope) but in 16x (Operating Power zoom).

All the time I got just in 20x. Is bother me because I used 16x.
How about is I crank the scope at 10x, or 12x, did Exball have a option to generate the drop in MILS at this variable power zoom?????
If yes! HOW!!!!

Thanks
Chris
__________________
Thanks
CJ
My 338Edge
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-30-2007, 01:36 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Nevada
Posts: 2,782
300RUM,
What scope and type of reticle do you have?
__________________
-----------------------------

-----------------------------
HEBREWS 13:8
Jesus Christ the same yesterday, and to day, and for ever.

Our Lord Jesus said that as it was in the days of Noah and
also as it was in the days of Lot so it shall be in the days...
It's happening again!!! God sent to us His prophet, and His Word
to this generation and we once more are rejecting it as was prophesied!!!

---> As promised, God Sent His Prophet to us!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-30-2007, 03:17 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Pueblo, CO
Posts: 1,175
Ktrot, i'm sure that Gerald set up his VH reticle so the subtensions would be at the highest power since he has the subtension change with magnification change option in there.

When u wish to use a different power for different reticle subtension, u must always click the 2nd focal plane box, that's somewhere on that same pg. I haven't used this feature lately since i always calculate interpolative (between stadia) zeroing and windage. Mils, MOA, user defined, whatever reticle u have should be in there or easily defined. Any 2nd focal plane reticle subtension can be manipulated with power change ratio on that pg. U have to play with it some to get the hang of it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-30-2007, 12:47 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: AB, Canada
Posts: 555
Quote:
Originally Posted by sscoyote View Post
Ktrot, i'm sure that Gerald set up his VH reticle so the subtensions would be at the highest power since he has the subtension change with magnification change option in there.

When u wish to use a different power for different reticle subtension, u must always click the 2nd focal plane box, that's somewhere on that same pg. I haven't used this feature lately since i always calculate interpolative (between stadia) zeroing and windage. Mils, MOA, user defined, whatever reticle u have should be in there or easily defined. Any 2nd focal plane reticle subtension can be manipulated with power change ratio on that pg. U have to play with it some to get the hang of it.
I tryed, but the Exbal is not let me save the changes!!! I don't know why??
My Scope have MILDOT Reticle...
Maybe I forgot someting to do, or the step order????

Chris
__________________
Thanks
CJ
My 338Edge
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: Exbal Ballistic Reticle Analysis Question
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
hp iPAQ Pocket PC w/Exbal Ballistic Program shooter981 Other Stuff For Sale 4 07-17-2010 06:56 PM
exbal question flims Long Range Hunting & Shooting 3 12-15-2008 04:34 AM
WTT for Exbal or NF ballistic software slymule Trade, Freebie and Loan 8 09-23-2008 03:31 PM
Which Ballistic Program? (Exbal)?? Moman Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics 8 03-26-2008 10:55 AM
Tactical Ballistic and Ranging Reticle Analysis article sscoyote General Discussion 0 04-12-2005 02:39 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC