Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics

Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics Applied Ballistics


Reply

Entering data into exbal vs other Ballistic programs

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-09-2012, 03:32 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 103
Entering data into exbal vs other Ballistic programs

I have read the whole Altitube vs Barometric pressure thread and think i have it all figured out now. For most ballistic programs enter the station pressure and 0 for the altitude. I have read alot on this topic and I now understand it. I use a kestral 4500. So set referance at 0 on the baro screen and that is my station pressure. But from reading this thread, Eaglet wrote out a very informative description on how to enter data into exbal and in this he is saying to enter altitude as well as station pressure. I understand exbal is doing this for their sight in vs actual hunting location, but why would this now mess stuff up like it does on other programs. (By adding altitude and station pressure) Can someone explain to me why exbal does this and how they do it so the altitude doesn't affect the station pressure?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-09-2012, 07:20 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: NC, oceanfront
Posts: 3,370
Re: Entering data into exbal vs other Ballistic programs

Response #32 at the mega-thread referenced:
Altitude vs. Barometric pressure

Eaglet quoted the EXBAL-for-Dummies doc included with the program, and he is right that it was Perry System's intent for you to use altitude. It's a very old school program written before hunters could field access actual pressure information.
But newer versions allowed for use of station pressure, -with altitude always left at zero.

I suspect this is desirable for you.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-09-2012, 08:23 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 103
Re: Entering data into exbal vs other Ballistic programs

So exbal is outdated? Should I get something newer and updated that goes along with the rest of the programs? If so what would be recomended? Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-10-2012, 11:34 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: NC, oceanfront
Posts: 3,370
Re: Entering data into exbal vs other Ballistic programs

I wouldn't say it's outdated, ballistics hasn't changed. Just a bit behind in features offered elsewhere lately.
Important though is what works for YOU -logistically.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: Entering data into exbal vs other Ballistic programs
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
? about ballistic programs Ridge Runner Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics 15 04-28-2009 10:04 AM
Exbal programs MattS Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics 2 06-09-2008 11:07 AM
ballistic programs hillbily Reloading 1 06-02-2008 09:34 PM
Exbal vs other programs - recommendations drpbroun5 Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics 15 01-20-2007 05:59 PM
ballistic programs??????????? jeff 300 Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics 0 01-15-2006 09:59 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC