Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics

Dope help

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-16-2013, 06:24 PM
Silver Member

Dope help

Hi guys,

I'm just getting started into the long range game and am having some trouble doping my shots.

I'm running a 77gr Nosler at 2915fps, zeroed at 100 yards from an AR15. I'm using the listed BC of .340, am at 7200' elevation and am using both the Nikon and isterlok apps to calculate come up values. At 700 yards the apps had me dial 18moa and at 425 yards they called for 8.25moa. I was high at both ranges and was landing rounds on target at 14moa and 6.5moa respectively.

My weather input is coming from the Weather Channel app data.

What bad inputs am I providing my ballistics calculators to get false outputs?

Thanks guys and God bless,

Adam

Last edited by cowboyarcher; 10-16-2013 at 07:19 PM.
Old 10-16-2013, 06:46 PM
Platinum Member

Re: Dope help

What caliber rifle?

"Give me a minute...I'm good. Give me an hour...I'm great. Give me 6 months...And I'm unbeatable." - Col. Hannibal Smith

Ignore everything I say, because I have a reading comprehension and memory problem...

Quote:
Originally Posted by WildRose View Post
The 284 is to the STW what a tricycle is to a Ninja.
Old 10-16-2013, 06:53 PM
Silver Member

It's a 22 PDK. So basically a necked down and slightly improved 6.8SPC. It running from a 20" WOA barreled AR15.

Old 10-16-2013, 07:02 PM
Platinum Member

Sounds pretty cool...Can you post up some pics of the ammo and stuff?

"Give me a minute...I'm good. Give me an hour...I'm great. Give me 6 months...And I'm unbeatable." - Col. Hannibal Smith

Ignore everything I say, because I have a reading comprehension and memory problem...

Quote:
Originally Posted by WildRose View Post
The 284 is to the STW what a tricycle is to a Ninja.
Old 10-16-2013, 07:08 PM
Platinum Member

Hello Adam,