Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics

Is cryogenics worth it

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-28-2005, 07:24 PM

Is cryogenics worth it

First Im new to this game the rifle game anyways I want to know if it worth the money to have my barrel done please any constructive feed back I would appreciate I have a new weatherby 30-378

thanks steve
Old 07-29-2005, 01:25 AM
Gold Member

Re: Is cryogenics worth it

Worldrecordbuck, Cryo is a very difficult topic. Some swear by and some swear at it. I hava a Custom Rem 700SA Titanium that wouldn't shoot in 284 Win. Finally had the action & barrel cryoed. Improved accuracy and as the rifle warmed up groups didn't open up as before. I'm happy with cryo, but other people thinks that it is a waste of $$.
Old 07-29-2005, 09:26 AM
Platinum Member

I had one barreled action cryoed. Accuracy was unchanged. I wouldn't bother with it again.

I think cryo treatment is even more controversial than moly coating. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]

VH
Old 07-29-2005, 12:28 PM
Platinum Member

Location: The rifle range, or archery range or behind the computer in Alaska

Shoot the rifle first, then tweek if it is unsatisfactory.
Long range shooting is a process that ends with a result. Once you start to focus on the result (where the shot goes, how big the group is, what your buck will score, what your match score is, what place you are in...) then you loose the capacity to focus on the process.
Old 07-29-2005, 06:52 PM
Silver Member

worldrecordbuck,