Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics

Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics Applied Ballistics


Reply

Can I headspace a Savage with a piece of once-fired brass?

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #8  
Old 01-27-2012, 08:30 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Central Pennsylvania
Posts: 4,072
Re: Can I headspace a Savage with a piece of once-fired brass?

You should use a piece of virgin brass to get your minimum headspace. Then use a single piece of masking tape to check for no go. Don't force the bolt when you have the tape on. It shouldn't close. Make sure you screw the barrel down until it stops. Make sure it is a firm stop. You don't want to use sized or once fired brass. That will make a sloppy fit for virgin brass or factory ammo.
__________________
Matthew 7:13-14
"Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it. [14] But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it.

If you find your self in a fair fight, your tactics suck!- Marine 1st Sergeant Jim Ryfinger

Friends don't let friends develop canonitis!-chucknbach

arguing over the internet is like the special Olympics....even if you win, you are still...special!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-27-2012, 10:36 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: SW Montana
Posts: 4,549
Re: Can I headspace a Savage with a piece of once-fired brass?

Quote:
Originally Posted by liltank View Post
You should use a piece of virgin brass to get your minimum headspace. Then use a single piece of masking tape to check for no go. Don't force the bolt when you have the tape on. It shouldn't close. Make sure you screw the barrel down until it stops. Make sure it is a firm stop. You don't want to use sized or once fired brass. That will make a sloppy fit for virgin brass or factory ammo.
I've had the exact opposite experience!!! Virgin brass in my WSM's will set the head spacing under go gauge spec, .004 under is about where I ended up with fresh cases and with the selected fired case it puts me at .0015-.002 head space after sizing case back to min spec.
I imagine all cases are different, that why I like to set back with a fired case from the chamber as it's a reflection of the current head spacing, if I want to set head spacing back to a true min spec the best way is a go gauge.
__________________
High Fence, Low Fence, Stuck in the Fence, if I can Tag it and Eat it, it's Hunting!

"Pain is weakness leaving your body"
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-27-2012, 10:51 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Central Pennsylvania
Posts: 4,072
Re: Can I headspace a Savage with a piece of once-fired brass?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigngreen View Post
I imagine all cases are different, that why I like to set back with a fired case from the chamber as it's a reflection of the current head spacing, if I want to set head spacing back to a true min spec the best way is a go gauge.
I concur. I have a go gauge. I debated and debated about trying to use brass and chickened out. I went with the gauge so I could get repeatable head spacing when I tear down to clean and things.

To the OP, you just heard experience, so I would take his advice when using brass to set your head spacing.
__________________
Matthew 7:13-14
"Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it. [14] But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it.

If you find your self in a fair fight, your tactics suck!- Marine 1st Sergeant Jim Ryfinger

Friends don't let friends develop canonitis!-chucknbach

arguing over the internet is like the special Olympics....even if you win, you are still...special!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-27-2012, 11:37 AM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: utah
Posts: 366
Re: Can I headspace a Savage with a piece of once-fired brass?

use gauges
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-27-2012, 03:35 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: greenwood, IN
Posts: 3,638
Re: Can I headspace a Savage with a piece of once-fired brass?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RT2506 View Post
I have head spaced some with a FULL length resized case with two pieces of scotch tape stuck to the base of the case. It works.
You really don't need to do that, as the nut will usually pull the barrel forward .002"-.003" forward when under a load. Some guys have a master case they use that is actually about .002" shorter that the one they intend to use. I've never done that one. It is important to always use the same case everytime, or a gauge. Two pieces of Scotch tape will probably be about .005" - .008", and that's gonna cause you problems down the road. One layer should be more than enough.
gary
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-27-2012, 07:16 PM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: MO
Posts: 53
Re: Can I headspace a Savage with a piece of once-fired brass?

I always use a go gage, have about 14 barrels bouncing around on 4 actions so I need the piece of mind that I always set them the same. The good thing is that most gages will work for a family of chambers. I would never use virgin brass because I do not trust all to be the same. Could run into another unfired piece that will not fit but would fit in a barrel set with a gage.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-15-2012, 02:37 AM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: terlton, oklahoma
Posts: 379
Re: Can I headspace a Savage with a piece of once-fired brass?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Loner View Post
You may get lucky once or twice, then again you may blow it up the first time. Rent the
go no-go gauges. It's about 5.00 plus shipping.
where did you get your gun education from?
There is nothing wrong with using a full length sized case to set your head space with. P O Ackley took a rifle and unscrewed the barrel one ful turn and fired a shell in it and it didn't blow up.
I seen a guy fire a 30-06 shell in a 308 norma mag and it didn't blow up but the case did fit the 308 chamber afterwards. There was a 308 shell fired in a savage 25-06 and it didn't blowup either.
The important thing is to set your head space to the same that your die is sizing them too.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: Can I headspace a Savage with a piece of once-fired brass?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Once fired brass sticking (that was fired from the same rifle?) Wookie316 Reloading 10 05-13-2012 07:02 AM
WTB Savage 1 piece base 20 moa LA loosesniper2000 Optics For Sale 10 03-20-2010 09:01 PM
Brass headspace question tlk Reloading 6 06-15-2009 08:53 AM
Lapua Brass - 300 Win Mag Headspace Anomalies? jguill Reloading 6 09-29-2005 07:19 AM
WTB- 300RUM brass. once fired, twice fired, three times.... Mountain Man Guns For Sale 5 07-31-2003 07:03 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC