Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics


Reply

Can I headspace a Savage with a piece of once-fired brass?

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-26-2012, 07:20 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NC mountains
Posts: 508
Can I headspace a Savage with a piece of once-fired brass?

Just a curiosity question. I got to thinking and question is: would it be possible to headspace a rifle (re-headspace after removing the barrel) with a piece of once-fired brass? If the brass was fired with the same rifle?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-26-2012, 07:32 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Central Oregon
Posts: 314
Re: Can I headspace a Savage with a piece of once-fired brass?

I am an amature at this, and it was my first attempt at a barrel change, but that is exactly what I did.

I have taken the rifle out and it shoots great!

I will interested in seeing what the "old hands" have to say.
__________________
"One of the ordinary modes, by which tyrants accomplish their purposes without resistance, is, by disarming the people, and making it an offense to keep arms."
-- Constitutional scholar and Supreme Court Justice Joseph Story, 1840
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-26-2012, 08:30 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,009
Re: Can I headspace a Savage with a piece of once-fired brass?

I have head spaced some with a FULL length resized case with two pieces of scotch tape stuck to the base of the case. It works.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-26-2012, 08:31 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: NW Mt.
Posts: 600
Re: Can I headspace a Savage with a piece of once-fired brass?

You may get lucky once or twice, then again you may blow it up the first time. Rent the
go no-go gauges. It's about 5.00 plus shipping.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-26-2012, 08:43 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NC mountains
Posts: 508
Re: Can I headspace a Savage with a piece of once-fired brass?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Loner View Post
You may get lucky once or twice, then again you may blow it up the first time. Rent the
go no-go gauges. It's about 5.00 plus shipping.
I will use the go/no go. But my once fired brass should fit after this right? Again, more of a curiosity question than anything. I am going to have a friend give me a hand with it to make sure I don't do something stoopid.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-26-2012, 08:46 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: SW Montana
Posts: 4,386
Re: Can I headspace a Savage with a piece of once-fired brass?

It can be done with no issues either way, you can easily get a barrel back to where it was but I like to get the head spacing to min so I use a gauge first then after that I'll use a certain piece of brass. I have one rifle that has 4 different WSM and RUM barrels and I have no issues resetting them back.
__________________
High Fence, Low Fence, Stuck in the Fence, if I can Tag it and Eat it, it's Hunting!

"Pain is weakness leaving your body"
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-26-2012, 09:00 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NC mountains
Posts: 508
Re: Can I headspace a Savage with a piece of once-fired brass?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigngreen View Post
It can be done with no issues either way, you can easily get a barrel back to where it was but I like to get the head spacing to min so I use a gauge first then after that I'll use a certain piece of brass. I have one rifle that has 4 different WSM and RUM barrels and I have no issues resetting them back.
Good to know. My barrel came loose. Sort of a freak thing. I made a thread about it a couple months ago. I was just wondering if the fired case would allow me to get closer to the measurements that I had been using. I would hate for all of my load development and measurements to be completely screwed up. Then again, I have no idea as to what the "space" gap is between the go and no go gages, so maybe it couldn't possibly be bad enough to completely ruin my previous load development.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: Can I headspace a Savage with a piece of once-fired brass?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Once fired brass sticking (that was fired from the same rifle?) Wookie316 Reloading 10 05-13-2012 07:02 AM
WTB Savage 1 piece base 20 moa LA loosesniper2000 Optics For Sale 10 03-20-2010 09:01 PM
Brass headspace question tlk Reloading 6 06-15-2009 08:53 AM
Lapua Brass - 300 Win Mag Headspace Anomalies? jguill Reloading 6 09-29-2005 07:19 AM
WTB- 300RUM brass. once fired, twice fired, three times.... Mountain Man Guns For Sale 5 07-31-2003 07:03 PM

Current Poll
Do You Shoot Rifle Competition?
YES - 33.69%
764 Votes
NO - 66.31%
1,504 Vote
Total Votes: 2,268
You may not vote on this poll.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC