close
Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics

Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics Applied Ballistics

BULLET TEST COMPARISON (as promised)

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 04-09-2010, 02:44 PM
Platinum Member

Re: BULLET TEST COMPARISON (as promised)

I go to the Corbin site every once in a while, I could seriously kill the balance of a major credit card on that site. I really dig the looks of the bullets you squeezing out also. Looking forward to more of you work!!
    Unread 04-09-2010, 03:27 PM
    Platinum Member

I've never used a Hornady A-Max before for anything, because I've had some problems with accuracy of some of Hornady's Interbonds and other models of bullets in the past. But I've read too often to dismiss, that the A-Maxs are an accurate bullet, and very frangible. Since I'm a two bullet user - one for long range shots and one for the close range ugly-bear-in-the-face chip-shots - I believe I will give them a whirl. With their plastic coned 'ballistic-tip-styled' tips, they should open even more reliably than Bergers VLD at the longer range, lower velocities - I THINK.

Anyhow, I've heard of others using them for long range low velocity impacts on game. I'm gonna try to round up a box of .284 162gr A-Max and try them in my 280 Improved. If I get an accurate load, I may try them this spring on LR black bear.

I define LR distance & impact velocity as starting around 4-500 yds on out, partially because I don't take the time to finesse an ultra accurate load for the controlled expansion bullet loads that I prepare for short range use. I've found that most any premium bullet is good-enough, accuracy wise, for shots from the muzzle out to around 400 yds. Since I spend a LOT more time developing my long range loads, I have a much more confidence with them and they fly with less wind drift starting around 400 yds on out.