Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics

Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics Applied Ballistics

Bullet BC at medium range[300] yd

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-23-2013, 11:00 PM

Bullet BC at medium range[300] yd

I have been studying ballistics for 20 years, and this still baffles me. Why would anybody chose a lower bc bullet at medium range.[300]yds for example. What advantage is there in a 450bc bullet at 300 yds, over a 500 bc bullet. If you have enough twist to stabalize the 500, or 600 bc bullet, then why even bother shooting a lower BC bullet. Any high bc bullet should be asleep IE stable by the time it gets to 300 yards.
Old 04-24-2013, 01:36 AM
Silver Member

Re: Bullet BC at medium range[300] yd

Accuracy?
Old 04-24-2013, 05:35 AM
Platinum Member

I agree with X-man out to only 300(short range). For a lot of shooting at this range I would chose flat base BR bullets, which are very low in BC, but more accurate.
For longer ranges BC does come into play more & more until it trumps short range accuracy.
This, due to wind(the true devil in LR).

Now someone out there will claim that accuracy trumps everything..
I'll just assume they shoot 6PPC at 1kyd then, and not worth a damn.
Old 04-24-2013, 02:44 PM
Gold Member

In the old days, it had more to do with the type of bullet than the BC. You can still see some vstiges of this today between the Berger and the Barnes. Two different types of bullets. Due to the construction/materials of the Barnes, it will never have the higher BC of the Berger.