Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics

Best Ballistic Software?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-23-2008, 10:53 PM

Best Ballistic Software?

Howdy all! I was wondering if some of you could relay your thoughts and experiences with different ballistic programs. I've never used any before, and with options from $40- $170, I want to be sure I'm making the right choice.

Anyways, I imagine the ideal setup for me would be a detailed program for my desktop where I can enter all of the data specific to my rifle (bullet type, weight, powder, muzzle velocity, etc etc) and play around with diferrent theoritical loads, and then I'd like to synch that with my Pocket PC...I'd like to have the rest of it (using the pocket PC to calculate drop/adjustments) be as simple and quick as possible.

If any of you have personal experience with any of the programs out there, care to share your opinions? Is one better than another? Any easier/harder to use?

Thanks!
Old 11-23-2008, 11:14 PM
Gold Member

Re: Best Ballistic Software?

Ballistics programs and downloads

This one has worked well for me and best of all its free
Savage Target Action 6mm-284
Savage Target Action 6.5x47 Lapua
Savage Predator Hunter Max1 6.5-284 Norma
Savage Predator Hunter Max 1 22-284 Norma
Savage Bear Hunter 338 Win Mag
"Gotta Kill It Before You Can Grill It"
Old 11-23-2008, 11:44 PM
SPONSOR

I have used Exbal for a long time and have just recieved the new Sierra software.
i have exbal on both computer and pocket PC-Works great!
Old 11-24-2008, 02:13 AM
Platinum Member

I have the Exbal by Perry Systems (sold by Nightforce) and I am very pleased with it. I have both on my desk top and my hand held computer as well

Old 11-24-2008, 07:24 AM
Platinum Member