Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics

Best .308 Win Bullet for Elk

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-21-2013, 04:12 PM
Platinum Member

Re: Best .308 Win Bullet for Elk

Quote:
Originally Posted by rangerman View Post
Since this will probably be a once in a lifetime hut for me that I have been saving for for over 2 years and the fact that I am almost 55 years old I think I will just take two guns and be done with it. My 300 RUM is a Remington Sendero with a custom Douglas 28" barrel and brake, Nightforce 5.5x22x56 scope, Jewell trigger, etc. that shoots the 215 Berger at a legitimate 0.5 MOA at 1000 yards.
Saving for a while...
once in a lifetime...
I would say plan for the worse case scenario. That means 300 RUM with a suitable bullet for almost any range/shot offered, and take a second rifle.

The people trying to say the 2nd Amendment is outdated are probably the same folks that would say the same thing about the Bible.
Old 05-21-2013, 04:20 PM
Platinum Member

[QUOTE=albertakid;808171]I have shot several elk with a 308 and 168 grain smk or amax and never had any issues put it where it counts and your good to go no caliber is gonna make a bad shot a good one.
I agree, to a point. A marginal shot with a lesser round might not be so with the extra horsepower. Example could be angled shots on elk.

Have seen more elk cover country after being shot with fast magnums than I have anything else due to the bullet just penciling through never had that problem with my 308.
How is it the extra velocity makes them pencil through, sounds more like a case of improper bullet choice. Care to elaborate?

That being said I prefer my 338 lapua if the shots are gonna be extended
Agreed
[\
QUOTE]

The people trying to say the 2nd Amendment is outdated are probably the same folks that would say the same thing about the Bible.
Old 05-21-2013, 06:42 PM