Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics

Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics Applied Ballistics

Barrel Twist?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 01-28-2009, 09:48 AM
Re: Barrel Twist?

What is MOA? Does it just account for the bullet drop? I also hear a lot about the Remmington 700 but I've been told to go with the Savage because its got the accutrigger. Is one better than the other? Sorry I don't know a lot I'm just getting into it, thanks for all the help.

Unread 01-28-2009, 10:03 AM

Originally Posted by .280fan View Post
You've gotten some good advice on your rifle of choice and I won't argue with it. I will caution you on your scope choice though. According to the Bushnell website (Bushnell Outdoor Products) this scope only has 20moa total adjustment. Your 308 will need somewhere in the neighborhood of 40moa 'up' to reach 1k. Even if you use a canted base this scope will not have enough adjustment to be able to shoot long range.

In the alternative, Bushnell makes an inexpensive scope that has 100moa Bushnell Outdoor Products. Use a 30moa canted base with this scope and you can reach past 1k.

If you've got money to spend though, there are lots of good scopes out there that will do the job well....Nightforce, Sightron, Leupold....on and on and on.
Will that scope have enough magnification? I've been seeing people talking about huge optics in like the 20s or 30s for 1000 yard shots and I may not go quite that far yet but as I've never attempted a shot to these distances I'm not real sure.
Unread 01-28-2009, 10:55 AM
Platinum Member