Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics

Accurate 7mm mag?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-10-2011, 11:18 AM
Bronze Member

Accurate 7mm mag?

Hey All

I am new to the site, I have been shotting long range for a few years but I have recently wanted to buy a rifle designated as a long range elk hunting rifle. I think the 7mm rem mag with a 162 grain A-max will fit the bill quit nicely. Here's my problem, I can't seem to find what I'm looking for and cant afford a custom rifle. So here's my question: Who makes the most accurate factory 7mm mag rifle for 1000.00 or less? I have been looking at the savage 111 long range hunter, however I have couple issues. First I am not a real fan of muzzle brakes and the LRH comes with one factory. Second I read the Dae Petzle review and he seemed to be really impressed with the rifle but I read a post on here with a person not being paid to like a rifle saying they were not impressed. What are some good options for an accurate 7mm mag? Also when I say accurate I don't mean 3 rounds at 100 yards I mean like 5 rounds at 200 and beyond. Any sugesstions would be greatly appreciated.

Thaks for everyones time.

RidgeRebel
Old 02-10-2011, 05:50 PM
Bronze Member

Re: Accurate 7mm mag?

I have a Savage BVSS 112 in 7mm mag that I really like. Northland Shooters Supply still has a few of them in stock, but I don't think Savage produces them anymore.

For 1000 bucks you could easily buy a Stevens/Savage action and fit a nice Shilen or other pre-fit barrel on it. Add a stock and maybe an aftermarket trigger and you should be good to go.
Old 02-10-2011, 07:29 PM
Silver Member