Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics


Reply

60moa mount 100yd zero?

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-21-2013, 04:07 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Western Pa.
Posts: 147
60moa mount 100yd zero?

Hope someone can help me out with this. 230 Hybred going 3000fps...60moa scope mount....70moa elevation in scope. Can I zero this set-up at 100yds ? If not...Can you tell me the minimum amount of ele. needed to get there.. or the closest I can zero this set-up to the nearest 50yd...Thank's Rick

The scope is a Sightron 8-32X56 LRMOA reticle.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-21-2013, 04:11 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: S.E. Michigan
Posts: 3,421
Re: 60moa mount 100yd zero?

Talk about a downhill mount, thats it.....

The mount must look like an adjustment wedge for shimming door frames.

I believe I'd zero at 300 and be done with it. I actually sight my rifles in at 300 all the time, you can always dial down or use the holdover in the reticle.

My only 100 yard sight in was my 223 that I shoot 100 yard matches with.
__________________
'It's not about me, it's about we'..........
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-21-2013, 04:18 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Near Napoleon,MI
Posts: 997
Re: 60moa mount 100yd zero?

If your scope has 70 min of elevation travel, how do you intend to zero it at all when you fit it ? Assuming no error on mount, action, barrel or scope the most you can dial down will be 35min, thus leaving you with +25 min for your zero point. On many scopes that is 2 rotations of the turret. That sounds like a 700 yard+ zero to me... Just how far do you intend to be shooting that makes you want a 60 min rail ? Perhaps you should spend a bit more on the scope and get something with more internal adjustment ?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-21-2013, 04:30 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Western Pa.
Posts: 147
Re: 60moa mount 100yd zero?

I have no problem picking up another scope. The new N.Force has 125min+. I am asking where my existing equip. will get me...That's all. The 60min mount is an older N.Force, I believe thay only did one run of them. The Gun is a 300 Lapua custom from Gre-Tan that sports a 34" custom taper Lilja tube. Yep...Set-up to get out there for sure.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-21-2013, 05:01 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 280
Re: 60moa mount 100yd zero?

AT:

Before you look at more MOA in the scope, seriously consider moving away from the current rail/mounting solution. Instead consider "external" adjustment. Specifically, consider the Ivey Shootings' RT-150 base and rings combo ("ring set") - 150 MOA, all UP! Zero your scope wherever you like (I also prefer 100 since that distance is available almost universally at any place considered an outdoor rifle range) and go from there as your situation requires. The brief info they post is at RT-150 RING SET

BTW, while they don't list it, they also have a 40mm combo - they built extras when they recently built my customs (for my Terminator).

Good shooting!
__________________
ELR Researcher
Life Member NRA and CRPA
www.elr-resources.com
Not a commercial business.
ELR...anything shorter is point blank!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-21-2013, 05:04 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: South of Canada and North of Wyoming
Posts: 5,954
Re: 60moa mount 100yd zero?

In order to use a 60 MOA base you will need 60 MOA of down travel to zero which means you will in reality need over 120 MOA total travel. 125 MOA would be cutting it real close. Every scope is different. Some might have 130 total travel and some less than 125 MOA travel. My 5.5-22 which is supposed to have 100 MOA of travel, actually has about 98. My 3.5-15 has 115 MOA of travel.

Also, I would not want to bottom out my scope turret to zero. And... can not think why you would ever need 120 MOA of up correction. That is like artillery trajectory. Your 230 Bergers with an MV of 3000 are going to go subsonic before you get to 70 MOA of needed correction.

Go with a 40 MOA base if you use a NF NXS or a 20 if you use the Sightron. If you can find a 30 MOA base it "might" work with the Sightron.
__________________
- Mark

You will never know how much it has cost my generation to preserve your freedom. I hope you make good use of it.
~ John Quincy Adams
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-21-2013, 05:35 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Western Pa.
Posts: 147
Re: 60moa mount 100yd zero?

Thank's for the input. The 60min came on the gun. I will be looking into the mentioned options. Just not quite sure what I am going to settle on for glass. I guess with the extrenal adj. rings I could just stick with the N.F. BR 8-32 NPR1 that sits on it now. The front Lupy ring is shimmed so it does zero at 100 and still runs fine out to 1000 with the 50moa adj. in the scope. With the adj. rings I would dump the 60 base for a zero min. This is some fun stuff....Thank's again for the brain food......Rick
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Current Poll
Do You Shoot Rifle Competition?
YES - 33.73%
764 Votes
NO - 66.27%
1,501 Vote
Total Votes: 2,265
You may not vote on this poll.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC