Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics

300 RUM questions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-03-2014, 12:39 AM

300 RUM questions

Hey everyone,
New to the site and seeking some advice/ opinions. The forums are full of information and its been a great read but I haven't quite found what I am looking for. I am new to the long range hunting (350 yards+) and am looking at getting a gun for elk and one that will do the trick at a greater distance than 500 yards distance... for now. Now I am pretty sold on the 300RUM but am looking at which model would be best. I am not opposed of buying a stock gun and getting a couple modifications for now. Been looking pretty heavily at the model 700 sendero but was wondering what everyones thoughts were with that or maybe a cheaper model with a different stock, barrel etc or other combinations. Now I am new with the modifications to hunting rifles so any input is greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Old 01-03-2014, 01:27 AM
Silver Member

Re: 300 RUM questions

A Sendero in 300RUM is a great place to start. You might want to look into a semi custom if you've got a few more bucks to spend. The Christenson (sp?) Arms carbon wrapped barrel guns are nice. 10X Rifles makes some nice sticks. Len right here builds a mean stick for a fair price. My 2 Long reach toys are in 300RUM and 280AI but the 300 is a SLEDGEHAMMER at 823yds! I haven't taken any game further than that but don't feel undergunned to go further..
Old 01-03-2014, 01:51 AM

That's what I started out with and it is a good gun, put a trigger on it. The 300 Rum will do a number on elk. Don't short change yourself on glass buy the best you can afford, or save up and get a Nightforce. The better glass helps at long range, low light etc.
Old 01-03-2014, 02:08 AM
Platinum Member

Location: The rifle range, or archery range or behind the computer in Alaska