Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics


Reply

300 RUM Load?

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #8  
Old 11-10-2003, 11:14 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Washington State
Posts: 2,462
Re: 300 RUM Load?

Brent,

That is some interesting data you collected there. I sure wouldn't expect a 150g bullet going at that speed out of that chambering to have pressure signs. I wonder what's up?

Jerry, What load are you using with the H50BMG?

Thanks,

Jon Denham
__________________
In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth. Genesis 1:1

"And can the liberties of a nation be thought secure when we have removed their only firm basis, a conviction in the minds of the people that these liberties are the gift of God?" Thomas Jefferson - Notes on the State of Virginia

www.wildsidesystems.com - Shelter for Your WildSide - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tYwgo...&feature=g-upl
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 11-11-2003, 12:15 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Washington State
Posts: 2,462
Re: 300 RUM Load?

Brent and Jerry,

Thanks for the info. I'm heading to MT in a couple of days for 2 weeks of elk hunting and due to lack of time, I've settled on 94.4g of RL25 with a 200g A-frame at about 3097fps over the Oehler 33. Got it zeroed at 300. Should kill an elk just fine, I thinks. I still get faint extractor marks about every other case with this load even, but I'm out of time. Will have to do for this hunt. Is Remington brass soft????

I did something I don't usually do yesterday at the range as my curiousity got the best of me. I has seen that Accurate Arms has AA8700 at a max load with the 200g A-frame at 111.0g at 3115fps. So, I loaded this in just one round--curiosity got the best of me and I didn't have time to do any more load development. Wow! 3280 fps, but with sticky bolt lift (which I've never felt before in the two rifles I load for the other being a .30-.338)and obvious extractor mark. Stupid--shouldn't have done it. But now I know. I hope to play with AA8700 (Jerry, I guess you'd call this a ball powder, and I don't know if it is "modern powder temperature insensitive" or not. Do you?) and 200g Accubonds later.

Also stuck 95g of RETUMBO in a case with same bullet and it had an extractor mark at 3033fps. Not what I had hoped.

BTW, I got a Redding neck sizer die (for $30, I figured I'd like to see if I could do that with the 300RUM) and this rifle seems to be accepting the neck size cases multiple times just fine. Seems to have fine accuracy if I do "my part". Any similar experiences?

Thanks,

Jon Denham
__________________
In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth. Genesis 1:1

"And can the liberties of a nation be thought secure when we have removed their only firm basis, a conviction in the minds of the people that these liberties are the gift of God?" Thomas Jefferson - Notes on the State of Virginia

www.wildsidesystems.com - Shelter for Your WildSide - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tYwgo...&feature=g-upl
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: 300 RUM Load?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kirby Allen’s “no load development” load development method. WildcatB Reloading 70 09-24-2012 06:01 PM
260 Load Help.. Quick Load??? novaman64 Reloading 6 09-02-2012 11:48 AM
Load data .243 Ackley varmit load please ballie Reloading 5 02-22-2011 01:49 PM
338 RUM Load Capt Academy Reloading 0 10-04-2008 08:06 AM
load for 300 win mag popwarlick Reloading 1 03-23-2008 04:21 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC